New toy #1: birthday present

I’ve had a great point-and-shoot, pocket-sized camera for a little over a year now: a burgundy Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS.  It was a tremendous upgrade from my previous Olympus Camedia D-425: easier to use, bigger screen, clearer photos.  It fits snugly in my purse so I can be ready to take a shot whenever the mood strikes me.  That said, while I love that little camera, I’ve always felt like there was something lacking.

So, imagine my delight when my birthday rolled around this year and Hubby presented me with a truly awesome gift: a Sony DSLR-A230.  This bad boy is big, hefty, and the closest thing to my dad’s old manual camera without using actual film.

One of the things that bothered me about the PowerShot was the inability to focus on the precise object I wanted.  Don’t get me wrong – the autofocus is quick and accurate.  But oftentimes the camera and I disagreed about the subject of the photo and thus on what to focus.  It made for some frustrating photo-taking.

The Sony, on the other hand, while it can easily be set to automatic, encourages everything manual, from focus to aperture to shutter speed to probably a lot of other stuff since I know squat about the workings of manual cameras.  But that is the great thing about it being digital: I can learn all about all those intricate functions of light and science by experimenting, and I can do it all without wasting precious film.

So far, I have only found one problem with the camera, and it has nothing to do with the actual photography.  The aforementioned manual camera that once belonged to my father had been sitting in a cabinet for about ten years.  Upon realizing that he had completely forgotten about it, and asking my mother for permission, that piece of nostalgia is now sitting on my desk, waiting for a new battery and ready to go again.  Along with the camera came a great soft case, some extra lenses (super zoom!) and – the best part of all – the shoulder strap that kept that camera and my father inseparable during my youth.  And herein lies the problem: the metal clasps that attach that strap to a camera are far too big and bulky for the likes of my new toy.

My hope is to get a new lens (macro zoom, fisheye, wide angle, etc.) every year. (Those things are expensive, you know, and I’m not made of money.)  I also hope to eventually know enough about the particulars of fine photography that I won’t have to spend two whole minutes setting up a shot to get it just right.

In the meanwhile, check out some of the shots I’ve taken so far:

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iwritten
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 11:22:23

    i believe its quite expensive for a toy

    Reply

  2. that girl
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 21:55:36

    Oooh. Happy Birthday and congrats on the new toy! It sure is purty.

    The title of the post is “New Toy #1.” Does this mean you have other awesome toys to tell us about?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

