I am very glad, indeed I finally return home

I’m sure this will be the next big thing to rock the interwebs, so it’s my pleasure to share it with you, gentle readers.  The only clue I have as to its origins is the barely noticeable “1976” printed in the bottom left corner, and the Russian title, which, according to Babelfish, translates to “I am very glad, indeed I finally return home.”

My mother once said that nothing good came out of the seventies.  The fashions, the hair styles, the color schemes, the architecture, the cinema… This video is the culmination of all of the bad aspects of the seventies.  Yet, somehow when they are all put together something truly corny and wonderful is created, which is greater than the sum of its parts.

I vaguely recall seeing reruns of variety shows from the seventies where the musical flavor of the month would come on and “sing” their latest hit.  By “sing” I mean move their lips to a prerecorded tape.  Why should the USSR be any different?  To me, the lip syncing makes this video all the more awesome.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. In10Words aka "Galileo"
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 03:24:08

    You saw that Colbert Report episode, too?

    I agree with Stephen, it immediately cheers me up 🙂

    Reply

    • megan
      Mar 06, 2010 @ 14:59:18

      Actually, I don’t watch the Colbert Report. Someone posted it on a random forum, and a friend sent me the link. But I agree with both of you: it is an instant smile-inducer.

      Reply

  2. Gary
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 16:48:10

    The 70’s rocked! I was born in 70 man! LOL

    Reply

  3. Peter K.
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 13:47:20

    I’m not sure he’s actually lip-synching. Check out this later interview, especially the last minute or so:

    http://www.boingboing.net/2010/03/15/trololo-guy-watches.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

