Windowpane Scarf

I have a really bad habit of starting a knitting project and leaving it half finished.  Scarves usually feel the brunt of my lack of follow-through.  At least with a hat or a sock I know I can finish quickly, so I am more motivated to complete it. But scarves go on forever, especially if the pattern is small and intricate.  However, I do actually manage to finish something on the rare occasion.  This time around, after months of alternate excitement and near-death boredom, I finished the Windowpane Scarf.

This monolith of a scarf (as modeled by yours truly to the right) is about 12 inches wide and 80 inches long, including the fringe.  I used about a skein and a half of Red Heart Super Saver worsted weight yarn (7 oz./198 g.) in Carrot, and a set of size 8 knitting needles.

The pattern, with a couple small tweaks (because I messed up early on and decided I liked it), is easily memorized, so it was the perfect project to work on while vegging in front of the television.

Of course, credit should be given where credit is due.  This pattern was not my own.  Heavens, no.  It came from here.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 13:00:32

    I love this Megan. I love to knit and plan to start teaching my granddaughter how next week one night. It seems it’s the “cool” thing to do with free time in school. That scarf looks like a good project for her for her first big project. It’s gorgeous. Thanks for the good idea.

    Reply

    • megan
      Jan 07, 2010 @ 13:07:35

      The great thing about this scarf is that it’s made up of simple knits and purls – nothing complicated – so it’s a good big project for a beginner. You can also adjust the pattern easily by adding or taking away squares. Good luck to you and your granddaughter!

      Reply

  2. nutmegnanny
    Jan 07, 2010 @ 16:54:27

    How beautiful! I cannot knit but if I could I would totally make this scarf. I’m so jealous of your skills 🙂

    Reply

  3. Gary
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 10:34:55

    I like it Megan! I bet you have a lot of time in that scarf but it’s all worth it.

    The model you chose to show off the scarf is a CUTIE! Nice choice. 😀

    Reply

  4. Gary
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 11:48:11

    BTW…..there is a little something waiting for you on my blog. 😀

    Reply

  5. S. Le
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:31:38

    Well done you! Lovely!

    Reply

  6. Lickety Split
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 12:00:42

    LOL!

    I kept thinking about all of the projects I haven’t finished and was laughing as you described it. I love the scarf but your face is just awesome in the photo. It’s as if to say…”I’m proud of it, sort of…”

    Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

