Megan Dancing

Back in 1985 or so, when I was about four years old, I took “dance” lessons.  I put “dance” in quotation marks because while we wore dance shoes and tights, we didn’t exactly dance.  It was more of a coordination class. Well, apparently, our dance teacher thought we were so fabulous that she volunteered us to perform on live television, for the Delaware Special Olympics Telethon.

While my parents drove me to the television studio, which they tell me was many, many miles away, a neighbor offered to record the telethon so that my television debut would be forever saved for posterity.  It was saved on a simple black VHS labeled “Megan Dancing,” which I have just transferred to the computer using my brand new Roxio Easy VHS to DVD.

A few notes about the performance, which may be more clear after you watch it:

  1. The quality is a little wonky, but that should be expected considering the tape is almost 25 years old.
  2. I was the line leader.
  3. We were supposed to stop in the middle of the stage, not at the far side.
  4. We did actually have a routine prepared.
  5. Despite what happened, we were not part of the Special Olympics.

Recent reviews of our performance raved:

So cute and a little scary!

Don’t quit your day job!

Even after all these years, it makes me laugh til tears are in my eyes.

And so, gentle readers, without further ado I present “Megan Dancing.”  Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ginacarruba
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 03:14:39

    Absolutely adorable!

    Reply

  2. Gary
    Dec 03, 2009 @ 11:19:26

    Awwwwwwwwwww….how cute Megan!

    Have your dancing skills improved at all over the years? 😉

    Reply

  3. Frankelstache
    Dec 12, 2009 @ 01:37:13

    Wow. That’s a heck of a video. more embarrassing than my Bar Mitzvah Speech. Way to go for sharing!

    I’m sure the specials in the crowed consider this a life-altering dance.

    Frankelstache

    Reply

  4. Joy
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 23:01:00

    Oh Megan, that was so cute. Absolutely priceless. Aren’t you glad you found this? I loved it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

