Roxio Easy VHS to DVD

I don’t remember having a lot of home movies made when I was a kid.  Some parents toted the video camera everywhere with them, recording each inconsequential moment of their precious little snowflakes’ lives.  The result was usually stacks of VHS tapes in a box or a closet, gathering dust for years because everyone was too embarrassed to watch them.

Because my parents were much more selective about what they captured with the camcorder (that, and the fact that I don’t remember even having a camcorder until I was almost in high school), our selection of home movies is rather limited. Most of them, in fact, are still on the teeny little tapes that came with the new technology of our camcorder – no more lugging around full-sized VHS tapes! – which also means that we probably can’t even watch them anymore, since I don’t think my parents even know where the camcorder is.

Speaking of watching home movies, and other VHS tapes, does anyone even own a VCR anymore?  My parents do, but I doubt that it’s hooked up.  My grandparents do, but they still don’t really know how to work it.  I was talking to a student of mine about VHS tapes and VCRs a while back, and she looked at me like I was making the concept up.

In any case, about the same time that I was rooting through a box of VHS tapes of my own, a friend of mine decided to hook up his VCR.  I found a few “home” tapes that had only my name on the label to indicate that something I did had been recorded.  We decided to see what was on the tapes.

Lo an behold, two of the tapes held my senior and graduate piano recitals!  I would have completely forgotten about them, had it not been for a sudden urge to hook up the VCR.  Of course, it’s not like I can show them to anyone, due to the previously stated disappearing VCR phenomenon.

Enter Roxio Easy VHS to DVD.  This is the best $80 I have spent all year. The hookup is really quite foolproof: you just connect the video and audio output cords from your VCR into the plugs provided in the box, which connect to a USB plug that hooks into your computer. The image and sound then plays through your computer via the newly installed program, and you can record as much or as little as you like. You can then edit the movie like you would any other in a program like iMovie and either burn the memories to DVD or publish embarrassing childhood moments to YouTube.

This nifty little gadget is available for both PC and Mac, though for some reason, the Mac version costs $20 more.

The only problem I have found is that the new digital files often take up quite a bit of room on one’s computer, especially if they are long clips.  However, if you have an external hard drive with an insane amount of space, this really shouldn’t be an issue.

Tune in tomorrow, when I post the real reason why I purchased this product.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. that girl
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 21:11:44

    Wow! $80? That sounds like a bargain. I remember buying a digitizer that would do something similar for about $250, and it was bigger and bulkier. How times have changed. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Maleesha
    Dec 02, 2009 @ 23:48:00

    There is no video of me growing up and not too many pictures either. Film was too expensive. I think that is what leads me to go WAY overboard taking photos of my kids. They will have every hair, pimple and angle well documented to the point while one day they will be blogging about how there is no mystery to their past…

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Dec 14, 2009 @ 23:01:55

    I’m going to check into this Megan. Thanks for sharing this info. It sure sounds easy and what a great price.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

