Kittens

My friend’s neighbor’s house seems to be a cat factory.  Apparently all the stray cats in the area like to congregate under the shrubs and porches and other sheltered places on her property.  What do they do there?  They have kittens.  Lots and lots of kittens.

kittens

See that squinty little guy in the front? I call him "Popeye."

There are five in the latest litter, which I got to see this weekend.  I am told that they are only a few weeks old. Each one is just big enough to fit in my hand.  They are they softest little things; even their little claws haven’t really sharpened yet.  The tiny mews that escape their mouths are so precious that I can’t help but squeal when I hear it. The best part is that while they are just courageous enough to be curious about people, they are still too young to know that they should probably run away when one of us tries to pick one of them up.

All I know is that I must have some seriously good karma going on.  If I didn’t, my conscience would have shut itself up and not reminded me that 1) my grandparents don’t like cats, and 2) we have a very large dog that could swallow a kitten whole.  If that karma weren’t so good, I would be well on my way to becoming the crazy cat lady with hundreds of cats inside and out, to whom I would leave all my worldly possessions when I die.  It took every ounce of my moral fiber not to take one of those little squirts home with me.

But honestly, though – how lucky am I to be able to resist a face like this?

kitten

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gary
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 19:06:51

    awwwwwwwww, you DO have amazing self control! I don’t think I could have not taken one home so GREAT job!

    Great pics too! 😀

    Reply

  2. Anne Glovier
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 21:52:23

    I would have scooped them all up and brought them home. You do have good self-control. I am too mushy for self-control. : 0)

    Reply

  3. nutmegnanny
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 00:11:14

    That is a lot of self control! We have two cats and I’m always asking for another kitten:)

    Reply

  4. curlywurlygurly
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 21:59:46

    stopppp itttt! i want a kitty–and i’m allergic!!! those are the cutest little balls of fur i’ve ever seen. i have no idea how you are staying strong–super human will power i suppose!

    Reply

  5. Tasneem R
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 03:29:09

    Well you should be awarded !! Haha.. by the way i don’t like cats! actually kittens does look sweet but when they grow up they are not much fun to be with….

    What do you have to say about your pet?
    You can look after your pet only if you have the correct choice of a pet that caters to your personality. Have you ever notice that? Think and take this test to avoid a wrong choice of your pet!
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/ideal_pet/ideal_pet_instructions.asp

    Reply

  6. Will
    Oct 24, 2009 @ 16:34:06

    Wow. You have a pretty astounding resilience to cute. I caved a few weeks ago and got a kitten. Cute Lola.

    Reply

  7. maleesha
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 23:38:01

    I SO want popeye…or the cream colored one in the middle. Oh I love kittens.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

