NASA attacks the moon!

Gentle readers, I am feeling particularly lazy as of late.  So lazy, in fact, that I have asked a friend, the distinguished Mr. Otto von Kotzenmeister, to write a guest post for me. Enjoy!

I can live with the headline “NASA attacks the moon” or “NASA to bomb moon.”  I mean, it did catch my eye enough to have me read the article.  But when you get a smug newscaster from MSNBC with raised eyebrows prefacing a report with “…and there’s this item, we’ve decided to bomb the moon” it gives off a totally different vibe.  He goes on to show the computer simulated video of what will happen when NASA crashes it’s rocket into the moon (spoiler alert: it blows up), although with the amount of reverence they gave this story it would have been more than appropriate to play Yakety Sax in the background while showing it.

Of course, like any other red blooded American, at this point you must be thinking, “Yeah, sure, water on the moon, future missions, space exploration blah blah blaaaahh, how much am I paying for this?”  Well, MSNBC is right there with you wondering the same thing; they end the video with “This ‘moon bombing’ mission, by the way, is costing tax payers 79 [pause] million dollars.”  And I’m left wondering, do they really need to say that?  Are there comparable stories about the most recent mission in Iraq where they add that it has cost tax payers 900 billion dollars at the end of the story with a skeptical look on their face? Someone did the math (not me, I don’t do math) and this experiment cost each tax payer 26 cents if the cost were evenly distributed across the U.S. population.  That seems pretty worth it.  But no, let’s just rile people up instead until we are left with comments like these:

Why NASA spent alot of money to strike the moon even though our economic in the world is in trouble.  If hit the moon, earth’s surface and weather will be changed worst.  Sciencists [sic] know nothing but God knows. Does God allow?

I don’t think this is a good idea at all.  What if something goes terribly wrong? The moon should be left alone.

And my favorite:

Is money all that you all think that is important! The moon sound be left alone, NASA has to put their noses in everything and in somethings that should be left alone! WTF is your all’s problem get a life! It’s people like NASA who think that they know everything about outer space when really they don’t know diddly crap. LEAVE OUTER SPACE ALONE!!!! Up with space down with NASA!!!

Well, the attack on the moon happened early this morning and the earth and moon seem to be intact, and it’s raining now so I can only assume that the weather is still working.  But I’m 26 cents poorer, and so are you – I expect my moon house and hover-car before the world ends in 2012.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 09:23:26

    This makes no sense to me. NONE!! I say leave the moon alone. I say quit spending so much money.

    Reply

  2. crobins
    Oct 12, 2009 @ 03:50:10

    It was only a matter of time before the NASA realized that there was actually a man in the moon and tried to find him.

    Reply

  3. James
    Oct 15, 2009 @ 05:06:05

    dont tell me they have found oil on the moon havent they? and they are protecting their democratic right to discuss oil negotiations with the moons leaders, so just a little bomming to show resolve!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

