Stuff My Students Said

As a teacher, I regularly come into contact with young children.  As young children, they tend to stay true to Bill Cosby’s adage and say the darndest things. On several occasions I have walked out of a lesson laughing so hard that I couldn’t even get the words out of my mouth to explain why I was laughing.  It makes for a pretty good work environment.

There’s only one problem.  My memory is that of a gnat.  I remember cutting one student’s lesson short last year because I couldn’t stop laughing, but I can’t for the life of me remember what that student said to make me laugh so hard.  That’s just not cool.

And so, with the help of a colleague, a new blog was born: Stuff My Students Said. We decided to chronicle just what the blog says: stuff our students say. Specifically, the stuff they say that makes us laugh, or is just plain out of left field.

While this blog is the result of piano lessons and stuff said by piano students, we certainly welcome stuff other students say, whether they be from music lessons or math class.  So, if you know any teachers, spread the word and tell them to submit the stuff their students said.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joe Jeffries
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 13:30:55

    What a great idea for a blog! I’ve just written an entry about my experience of teaching English in France – I hope you like it 🙂

    All the best,

    Joe

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 09:12:48

    What a great idea. When my kids were young I tried writing these cute things all in their baby book but I know I forgot some of the stuff. This is a really good idea.

    How have you been? Things going okay for you?

    Reply

  3. Gary
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 18:33:11

    This IS a great idea! We are very good friends with a school teacher. I grew up with both her and her husband. I’m going to pass this along to her and hopefully she will contribute! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Anne Glovier
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 18:39:47

    The site is wonderful. Loved the quotes – it reminded me of the days when the kids were young. Great job and idea.

    Reply

  5. that girl
    Sep 23, 2009 @ 23:08:19

    This is a neat idea. I may find things to contribute if you’d like to hear the thoughts of my college kids…. I’ve been thinking of doing something similar to this but the topic would be the funny things my husband says!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

