Tomato Town: Salsa

Today’s tomato recipe comes from the scariest cookbook I know: my brain.

Normally, when I cook, I start with a recipe from a tried and tested cookbook, and then adjust it to give it a spin to reflect my personal tastes.  To start completely from scratch and create a recipe out of thin air is a rare thing, mainly because I am afraid of concocting something so vile that those who eat it will die a horrible, acid reflux-induced death.

However, if I didn’t get a little creative, I would never use up these blasted tomatoes.

Salsa is pretty hard to mess up.  All that is involved is chopping up a little of this and that until it tastes the way you want it to.

My recipe is pretty simple, and can be adjusted, depending upon how oniony or garlicky or spicy or sweet you like your salsa.  Remember, spiciness is determined by the jalapeño – the more seeds and the more of the ribs left in, the spicier it gets. Incidentally, wash your hands immediately after working with a jalapeño, and do not under any circumstances touch your eyes until that jalapeño oil is washed off, unless you enjoy blinding pain.

All-Purpose Salsa

Chop up and mix together the following:

  • about 4 large (beefsteak-sized) tomatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • 4 or 5 cloves of garlic
  • 1 jalapeño
  • a handful of cilantro

Squeeze half of a lime and drizzle a teeny bit of olive oil over the salsa.  Season to taste with kosher salt and coarsely-ground pepper.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 12:37:46

    This is great. I was asking people on Facebook the other day for a good salsa recipe as I have so many fresh veggies available to me right now and voila, here it is. I’m gonna give it a try and let you know. I want to can some of it. Thanks Megan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

