WTF Wednesday

I’ve decided to start a new segment here at Melodic Insomniac: WTF Wednesday. Basically, I’m posting about one of the many, many things that I see during my week that make me think or say, “WTF?”  I think I’ve got enough subjects to keep this going for quite a while.  That’s pretty scary.

There’s a great toy store in my mall that sells mainly toys from my childhood. That means board games, Lincoln logs, those cool cardboard blocks painted to look like bricks, and more of the like.  Electronics are at a minimum.  The majority of the dolls are of the nameless teddy bear and baby doll variety, but there is a small selection of action figures.  There are some Indiana Jones action figures, but they look nothing like Harrison Ford.

On the other side of the store, completely alone from the rest of the action figures, hangs a set of the following:

crazy cat lady action figure

Crazy Cat Lady: The Action Figure.  How many cats do you have?

I’m sorry, but who in their right mind needs an action figure of a crazy cat lady, complete with six cats (in addition to those that are already peeking out from beneath her hair and from her sweater pocket) to accessorize her?

What really cracks me up is that this toy seems to be completely independent from any TV show, movie or game.  She is a stand alone crazy cat lady.  Not to knock the cray cat lady, but I thought that most action figures that do not emulate movie stars or teeny bopper singers encourage children to pretend to be some worthy profession, like a firefighter or a policeman.

Seriously, WTF?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. timshel1
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 01:41:28

    This is a toy to teach children that being famous isn’t everything. We can be happy with a few cats in our lives too. I bet the local animal shelter paid toys ‘r us a good sum of money to produce these toys.

    Reply

  2. In10Words aka "Galileo"
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 03:08:20

    Ahh, you can thank Archie McPhee and the like for the existence of that and other strange action figures. Among others, I’ve found Sigmund Freud and Jesus.

    “What Would Jesus Do?”
    “Buy my action figure for $6.99 to pit it against your GI Joes!”

    Reply

  3. reveriemuse
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 10:00:28

    LOL thats pretty WTF!!! Funny though, call me crazy but I also think its a little cool (kooky but interesting lol)…

    Reply

  4. nutmegnanny
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 12:32:19

    Hahahaha nice!

    Reply

  5. bschooled
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 18:17:44

    WTF Wednesday.

    FYI this post just made my day…

    Reply

  6. Megan
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 15:39:13

    Ha! We sold these at the Borders where I worked. I used to unpack them and other such novelty items — like a ninja-fighting Jesus action figure — and wonder how in the world we were ever going to clear these out of our stock. Miraculously, they did manage to disappear!

    Reply

  7. Gary
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 19:52:11

    WTF is right? Who the hell would buy something like that for their kids? I would however like to purchase one of these and give it as a gag gift for someone at X-Mas! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Will
    Jul 29, 2009 @ 19:34:45

    I saw this in some store. I almost bought the Abe Lincoln action figure.

    Reply

  9. mssc54
    Jul 30, 2009 @ 19:21:52

    Don’t you just love the complete honesty of a child.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

