Tokyo time

My internal clock seems a little off these days.  I’ve found myself waking up later and later each day.  Under normal circumstances this wouldn’t bother me, because it’s always nice to sleep in.  But this morning I woke up at 11:30. In the morning.

I’ve never been a morning person.  I’m more of a night owl. I do my best work in the afternoon, so I’m quite sure I chose the right profession of teaching kids piano lessons after school.  I’ve had a couple jobs that required me to be at work at an ungodly hour, like 8:30 in the morning, and they were the worst jobs I ever had.  Certainly, they were not my most productive.

While I don’t like waking up before the sun rises, I also don’t like sleeping the better part of the day away.  I do believe it’s possible to get too much sleep.  Too little sleep and too much sleep have the same effect on me: grogginess for my waking hours that even coffee won’t relieve.

It’s not as if I go to bed incredibly late.  Usually I’m in bed by 11:30, asleep by 12:30.  Last night was no different.  It’s also not as if I’ve been starved for sleep lately.  A good seven hours will usually do for me, and, with the exception of a sleepless night here or there, I’ve been getting that.  So, I’m a little confused about the eleven hours of sleep I got last night.

I think my internal clock is resetting itself for Tokyo time.

I’m curious, gentle readers, what is your sleep schedule like?  What is the latest you’ve ever slept in?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nutmeg Nanny
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 19:14:35

    My sleep schedule is always off. I do not usually get home from work until after 1am and sometimes I have to be out of the house around 7:30am. When this happens too many days in a row the first day I have to sleep I usually sleep the whole day away. The other day I work up at 11:30am and that was only because we lost power and my fan shut off. When I looked at the clock I was shocked that I had slept that late. Unfortunately my whole day was basically wasted because I had to leave for work at 1:15pm. I hope your sleep schedule gets back to normal.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

