Sardoodledom

In addition to being a grammar Nazi, I also consider myself to be something of a spelling Nazi. Perhaps this is why I so enjoy watching the annual Scripps Spelling Bee on ESPN, a channel to which I would otherwise never tune.  I admire the kids who spend so much time training to be correct spellers.

Unfortunately, due to my lack of a cable television connection, I had to miss last night’s challenge. I did hear a little snippet, though, today on NPR’s All Things Considered, when they brought the fifth place winner, Kennyi Aouad, on the show.

Two years ago, an eleven year-old Kennyi was faced with a most awesome word, “sardoodledom.” It’s pronounced just like it looks: sar-doodle-dumb.  He reacted the same way I would have if I were in his place: with an onslaught of the giggles.

I adore this kid’s ability to find humor in the silliness of the sound of the word and just be a kid, but also his ability to stay cool under pressure and spell his way out of a challenge.  His handling of the word with a resolute, “Fine, I’ll give it a shot,” still has me laughing.  As good a speaker as he is, I will be very surprised if Kennyi doesn’t end up in some public position when he grows up.

One thing is for sure: I will never forget the word “sardoodledom.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    May 30, 2009 @ 11:50:24

    That was so cute. I loved watching that. He was adorable in the beginning with those giggles. But they say the recovery is everything and he sure did have that. What an adorable child.

    Reply

  2. Matt
    Jun 11, 2009 @ 13:54:30

    That kid buys time like no other, I’m thinking politics may be his future!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

