Drawing a blank

I’m going through a major period of writer’s block.

In times like these, I usually post a recipe.  But I’m too lazy to get off my butt and concoct something creative.

So, until I think of something better to say, y’all can check out my view at the beach on Mother’s Day.

By the by, the moment I took that photo was just after I received some very strange looks.  You see, gentle readers, I had just changed rolls of film in my camera.

That’s right.  I still use actual film.  Not exclusively, but a big chunk of the time.  That fact apparently downgraded my status on the boardwalk to that of a sideshow freak.

This is why I only go to the beach when the crowds are at their minimum.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    May 20, 2009 @ 12:05:47

    I love that photo. It’s neat. I also think it’s cool you still us a film camera. I’m wondering if I’d remember how to change film. I do have one though and I even know where it is. I do use that camera for weddings and important things. I like to have the “film” and it seems safer to me. I’ve lost “digital” photos in the past and when you have the film, it’s always there and never disappears.

    Reply

    • megan
      May 20, 2009 @ 13:11:42

      I like using the film camera simply because it forces me to seriously consider the shot I’m about to take. Sometimes I think it’s too easy to use the digital camera and erase something if it doesn’t turn out.

      Reply

  2. Gary
    May 20, 2009 @ 12:27:49

    Cool pic! I still shoot film every great once in a while. I have an old Canon AE-1 35mm. What are you shooting with???

    Reply

    • megan
      May 20, 2009 @ 13:09:35

      Thanks, Gary! Mine is a Minolta Dynax/Maxxum 3xi 35mm. It was my fiance’s, but since he rarely used it, I’ve commandeered it. I love it, but I need to figure out how to turn off the flash.

      I still have my old Pentax Zoom 90-WR lying around. It was the first major purchase I ever saved up for (a whopping $100 at the time!). It takes decent photos, but as a point-and-click, it doesn’t offer much control.

      I wish I knew if my dad still had his old Nikon…

      Reply

  3. curlywurlygurly
    May 20, 2009 @ 22:36:32

    oh, sure…come down to asbury and don’t call me! love the shot…you’re too creative for moi.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

