Just another year

Today is my birthday.

I am 10277 days old.  I’ll let you work that out for yourself.

Some years I get really excited about my birthday.  This year I find that I don’t particularly care.  It’s just another day.

Perhaps it has to do with the fact that I have nothing special planned.  My fiance is halfway across the country.  My grown-up friends are all out of town.  My friends who are still in grad school are graduating today.  No party will be raging in my honor tonight.  It will be just me and Bonnie Cat today.

But, I’m okay with that.

Ever since Christmas my weekends have been “planned” – errands to run, people to see, things to do – they all kept me going without stop.  I’m actually quite looking forward to the prospect of lazing about today with no plans and no incentive to shower.  To me, it sounds like a perfect Saturday.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nutmegnanny
    May 16, 2009 @ 13:42:10

    Happy Birthday!!! Eat cake, relax, hang out with Bonnie and have a good day:)

    Reply

  2. Matt
    May 16, 2009 @ 14:34:21

    Happy Birthday, hope you have a good day just relaxing and lazing around. Over here, we have the Eurovision Song Contest about to kick off, many terrible Euro songs and acts, hosted in Russia this year, it’s a show of a kind umm… it definitely is. I’m debating whether I should put myself through torture of watching it or not. Be thankful that you can just spend the day blissful of its very existence!

    Reply

  3. jonsquared
    May 17, 2009 @ 10:17:12

    happy birthday!

    you know, my perfect birthday would be one spent alone, snuggled up with a bible in one hand and a bottle of jamieson on the other. yeah, that’s my kind of birthday.

    Reply

  4. Gary
    May 17, 2009 @ 16:50:24

    Happy Birthday Megan!!

    I hope you had a nice day of lazyness!

    Reply

  5. nat @ book, line, and sinker
    May 17, 2009 @ 21:09:49

    HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAPPY BIRTHDAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY! i hope you enjoy your day. for most of my life, we’ve been away for my birthdays because it falls in the summer. may all of your birthday wishes come true!

    cwg

    Reply

  6. Megan
    May 18, 2009 @ 09:24:56

    Happy belated birthday! Hope it was just as relaxing as you planned. I totally understand about weekends being so incredibly structured, it’s often great to just… do whatever. No real plans. Nowhere to be. No one expecting you.

    And I find myself feeling more and more apathetic to my birthday, too… I don’t know why. Mine falls on a Saturday in July, so maybe I’ll be more inclined to do something with family/friends. Humph. I guess “24” just isn’t that exciting! (The age, not the show… love the show, actually. haha)

    Reply

  7. Joy
    May 18, 2009 @ 11:55:25

    I’m sorry this is late but I really hope you and Bonnie Cat had a great day. I agree, some b-days are more fun than others but I like the lazy days more often than not. Happy birthday Megan.

    Reply

  8. maleesha
    May 19, 2009 @ 00:45:47

    Happy Birthday a few days late! I hope you enjoyed the time to yourself.

    Reply

  9. megan
    May 20, 2009 @ 11:35:33

    Thanks for all the birthday wishes, gang!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

