Bridezilla? Not me.

I think I’ve done pretty well with this whole wedding planning thing. Honestly, I don’t understand what all these so-called “bridezillas” are working themselves into a tizzy over.  I have to laugh at the women on those television shows who break down in furious tears every time someone doesn’t treat them like royalty and things don’t go exactly their way.  Sheesh.  I’ve seen two year olds with better manners.

After planning this wedding for six months, I’m convinced that Lifetime airs those shows to make real life seem like a breeze.  Sure, there have been a couple little snafus, but they’ve been ironed out so easily that I can’t even remember what they were.  As for my checklist, I’m a little frightened about how non-stressful the whole process has been.

Person to wed us: check.  Attendants: only one apiece.  Dress: taken care of the week after the proposal.  Shoes: found for $20 on sale at J.C. Penny’s.  Reception site: booked.  Cake: tasty. Caterer: ready to rock.  Flowers: looking and smelling good.  Who to invite: easy.  Who not to invite: even easier.

To be honest, the only thing that has me really stressed out is something so trivial I’m almost embarrassed to admit it: the invitations.  And not the physical invitations themselves.  No, those are taken care of.  I’m talking about the wording on the invitations.

Fancy engraved invitations aren’t us, so I’m doing it all myself with a kit I bought at Staples (again, on sale for only $30!).  These invitation kits are the best.  You can print them at home with your very own printer, saving exorbitant engraving and printing fees.  In each kit is a set of invites, envelopes, response cards, response envelopes, and some ribbon to make it look all pretty.  With 50 invitations in the kit, that comes to only $0.60 for each invitation!  Hooray for frugality!

So, for the past two days I’ve been agonizing over the precise wording to be printed on my cute little D.I.Y. invitations.  You would not believe how difficult it is to articulate something concise and meaningful to reflect our personalities.

I don’t want to do the whole “Mr. & Mrs. Blah Blah request the honor of your presence at the wedding of Teela to He-Man, son of Mr. & Mrs. Blah Blah” thing.  That’s way too formal for us.

I do want to include our parents in the invitation, since they are paying for most of the whole shindig.  I just don’t want to spell out their names, lest I risk turning a simple invitation into a novella.  I’ve seen a few examples with “Together with their parents” in there, but somehow it just doesn’t seem quite right.

I also don’t want to be a complete hillbilly and hand scribble something like “Hey y’all, we’re getting hitched.  Come on over!”

You see, I need a happy medium between backwoods, unconventional free thinking and traditional overblown formality.  It needs to be something simple and refined that sounds like something we would actually say to someone in person.  It needs to be something that would please Emily Post.

Don’t even get me started on fonts.

Of all the things in this whole process that could have been stress inducers, I am actually quite amused that the invitations are the most aggravating.  I suppose if there had to be one thing to get worked up about, this is the best thing.  I’m mostly frustrated about how frustrated I’ve let myself become.

So, gentle readers, I turn to you for advice.  If you’re already married, and sent out invitations to your friends and relatives, what wording did you use on your invitations?  Do you have any suggestions for what to use, or what not to use?  What the heck should I write?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Thom
    May 05, 2009 @ 17:56:43

    Reply

  2. nutmegnanny
    May 06, 2009 @ 00:57:13

    Thought you might find this site helpful. With a title like “Wedding invitation wording that won’t make you barf” you know it’s going to have some good stuff. Hope you find it useful! Oh and my favorite part of Bridezillas is when the bride (always) yells “It’s my day!” I don’t know why but that totally cracks me up.
    http://offbeatbride.com/2007/12/wedding-invitation-wording-that-wont-make-you-barf

    Reply

  3. Gary
    May 06, 2009 @ 11:48:34

    It sounds like you have everything under control!! Good for you Megan! As a wedding photographer, I have had to deal with a LOT of bridezilla’s! I have always found them to be quite comical.

    Speaking of photographers, have you chose one yet?

    Reply

    • megan
      May 06, 2009 @ 22:58:22

      I know, right? What’s the point in adding stress where there doesn’t need to be any? Those ladies are just crazy.

      I actually did just find a photographer today. I would have asked you, but 1) I didn’t know you were a wedding photographer, and 2) I think you live a bit too far away. C’est la vie!

      Reply

      • Gary
        May 07, 2009 @ 22:32:14

        Glad to hear you hired a photographer! You didn’t know I was a wedding photographer? SURPRISE!! LOL

        I don’t know where you live but odds are you live too far away, yes. UNLESS of course you are willing to pay my travel expenses? Something to think about….

        Reply

        • megan
          May 07, 2009 @ 23:35:57

          Surprise, indeed!

          Yeah, I think I’m a bit too far away. And one of the reasons why I chose the person I did is because he is a friend who is doing it as a gift. That’s a big incentive for someone who is pretty close to dirt poor. So, I’m afraid paying travel expenses would be a bit much for me. 😉

          Reply

  4. Joy
    May 06, 2009 @ 13:27:24

    I have no words of wisdom for you. I got married 30 years ago and things were so different. I’d look around. You’ll find something. Just let us know what you pick.

    I never got the whole “I’s my day deal” either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

