Thunderstorm with a scaredy cat

Me: Wow, it’s really raining out there!

Bonnie: It certainly is!  I don’t think I like it very much, but since I’m an indoor kitty, the rain doesn’t bother me too much.

Lightening: FLASH!

Thunder: BOOM!

Bonnie: What in the wide world of sports was that?

Me: That is a thunderstorm, Bonnie.  Lightening lights up the sky and thunder crashes, and rain pours down in heavy sheets.  I like thunderstorms.

Bonnie: Well, I don’t think I like it one bit.  Do you mind if I sit with you while it passes?

Me: Not at all!  Have a seat, and we’ll snuggle in the comfy green chair.

Lightening: FLASH!

Thunder: BOOM!

Bonnie: Oh dear, I definitely do not like this.  I think I’ll dig my claws into your leg for protection.  Do you mind?

Me: I’m afraid I do, Bonnie.  That hurts quite a bit.  Would you please retract them?

Bonnie: So sorry about that.  Here, is that better?

Me: No, I don’t think so.  You see, you’ve released my leg, but now you’ve dug your claws into my stomach.  You’re doing the same thing, just in a different place.

Lightening: FLASH!

Thunder: BOOM!

Bonnie: Oh my!  I think I’ll be safer if I climb up on your chest.

Me: You may be, but I’m afraid your claws are now digging into a much more sensitive place than before.  I must ask you to let go.

Lightening: FLASH!

Thunder: BOOM!

Bonnie: Perhaps you were right.  Your chest isn’t nearly protective enough.  I now see that the safest position for me is to be wrapped around your neck.

Me: You know, this is getting a bit out of hand.  I don’t think you will be any safer from the storm by moving up a couple of feet.

Bonnie: No, no, I think your neck is best.  Look, my foot fits nicely on your shoulder, and your cheek is the perfect place for my armpit.

Me: True, but your body is not exactly on my neck.  It’s more on my face.  I’m having a bit of trouble breathing through your fur.

Bonnie: You know, your ear looks like a good thing to hold on to.  I think I’ll grab that.

Lightening: FLASH!

Thunder: BOOM!

Me: Ouch!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 13:48:44

    Cute, cute post. I loved reading this. I have a labrador who behaves this way and nobody has ever told her she’s NOT a lap dog!!

    Reply

  2. curlywurlygurly
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 19:54:15

    that was hilarious. we had the storm last night too–i was home alone and scared out of my wits. i refused to log off the computer and every time lightening struck, a strange hissing sizzle came through my speakers. fun!

    need pictures of bonnie asap. (and i love her name…how positively human.)

    Reply

  3. nutmegnanny
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 15:03:15

    I’m very sorry to hear that you cat was clawing you up but as the owner of two cats I completely understand. I have a 14lb. cat who hates loud noises and likes jump on the bed right by my head and dig her claws in. On a random note my cat also hates pens and if I’m writing and sees the pen moving she will stand up, bat at hyper speed (with claws out) sometimes catching my little fingers with her claws and then run off. On occasion she also tries to eat the pen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

