Peep

Poor Mike.

I knew I wouldn’t see him for Easter, so when I came to visit last month, I brought a haphazardly-packed makeshift Easter basket full of yellow Peeps for him.  It was a twenty-pack: four small packages of five, held together with some stiff plastic wrap.  Little did either of us know that they would be almost gone before he had a chance to eat them.

I’m sure you’re asking yourselves at this point, “Why didn’t Mike get any Peeps?”  The answer, folks, is because I, apparently, am a pig.

In all my not-quite-thirty years on this planet, I have never particularly cared for Peeps. They are way too sweet and the sugary coating gets everywhere. In years past, I REALLY had to be in the mood for a Peep to eat one, and that one Peep would do me for the season.  (It’s strange, because I have always liked marshmallows.  I suppose it’s just one of the strange paradoxes of my taste buds.)

It seems my tastes are changing, and not necessarily for the better.  I can’t explain why it happened.  Maybe they changed their recipe.  Maybe it was something in the air.  Maybe I’m going through some sort of hormonal change.  Maybe I have been brainwashed by aliens in my sleep.  I don’t know.  What I do know is that I ate eighteen of the twenty neatly packed Peeps, leaving my poor man with only two.

I thought that by eating eighteen Peeps in the span of only a couple days, I would have curbed my appetite for them.  I was sorely mistaken.  That initial gorge-fest seems to have only stoked the flame.  Now, I can’t wait until Monday, when all the Easter candy goes on sale and I can buy Peeps by the cartful for a fraction of the price.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nat @ book, line, and sinker
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 13:06:55

    i stop for stale peeps. yay! i’ve actually been to the peep factor in PA. i know, i know…i’m too cool for skool. hoppy easter!!!

    Reply

  2. Molly
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 14:23:23

    4 words for you: Peeps Soaked In Baileys.

    Reply

    • megan
      Apr 12, 2009 @ 18:33:15

      Wow. That sounds unbelievable. Do you put the Peeps in right out of the package, or do you let them get stale first? How long do you soak them?

      Reply

  3. Joy
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 10:28:36

    This was cute. I’m a Peeps lover. Even if I don’t eat them, I have to buy them. They are just so cute and so fun looking. I don’t know what it is about them either. It just wouldn’t seem like Easter to me without them. They sure do come in funky colors now. My son found orange ones and I would have killed to come across orange ones. They were so cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

