The Cat & The Mouse

I would like to preface this post with the following statement: I do not keep a particularly messy house.  Sure, I go through spells of leaving my clean laundry unfolded in the laundry basket, or leaving books and magazines spread over the kitchen table.  On occasion, I will leave a dirty dish either in the kitchen sink or on the counter for a night before putting it in the dishwasher.  While I live in a state of relative chaotic disarray, I certainly do not live in squalor.

Now that I’ve said that, I can get on with it.

Bonnie Cat has a number of little toy mice that I have bought for her since we became flatmates.  Most of them have been batted under the furniture.  I imagine that when I move, I will find a happy little nest of toy mice that have settled in the most unreachable corners underneath the couch.

Once in a rare while, when left to her own devices (read: I don’t feel like fishing a toy out from under a bookcase for her) Bonnie will somehow manage to reach one of her toys and dribble it soccer-style across the apartment.  Inevitably, though, she will swat at it a little too hard, knocking it once again under something and out of her reach.  ‘Tis the circle of life.

Imagine my surprise this evening when one of Bonnie’s toy mice jumped up and ran away from her!

You guessed it, gang: it was a real, honest-to-goodness mouse scurrying along the baseboard, desperately trying to escape the curious cat that trailed close behind.

My first thought was that Bonnie was going to try to eat it.  My second thought was not of the potential disease that my sweet kitty might ingest, but of the blood and guts and fur and bones I might have to clean up.  No sir-ee, Bob, you can bet your bottom I was not about to let that sort of carnage happen in a place where I often walk barefoot.  So, I did the first thing that came to mind.

Springing into action, I grabbed a glass from which I had just been drinking. At the last second, I realized that the glass was still quite full, so I deftly dumped it into a houseplant.  In the most athletic display I have seen from myself since before I reached double digits, I found myself leaping over the coffee table, skidding in my socks across the hardwood floor and dance around the excited cat at my feet.  Somehow, during all of this, I managed to place the glass over the mouse, trapping it beneath an apple juice-soaked dome of safety.

I really needn’t have worried so much about Bonnie.  It quickly became apparent that she had no intention of eating the mouse, but of playing with it: batting it, swatting it, tossing it in the air and generally terrorizing it.  The poor thing cowered under the glass, visibly trembling with abject horror.

mouse

Unlike my mother, I am not afraid of mice.  I just don’t like them running willy-nilly throughout my home.  That’s why I keep my rodent pets in secure cages.

This little mouse, now that it was safely harbored under the glass, was actually quite cute. The thought did cross my mind that I might have a new pet, but the idea of disease and pestilence quickly made me reconsider.

Sliding a magazine under the glass, I airlifted the tiny intruder to the front door.  I figured the relative wilderness that separated my apartment complex’s property from the manicured lawns of the neighborhood behind us would be a nice place for the mouse to find a new home.  I gently placed the magazine on the ground and, stepping back, lifted the glass.

Do you know what that little bugger did?  It made a bee-line right back towards my building!  Son of a bitch…

Only when I returned to my living room and sat down at the piano did I find myself laughing.  While Bonnie strutted proudly about the apartment, I realized that I have a new appreciation for the piece I’m teaching one of my students: Aaron Copland’s The Cat and The Mouse.  I think everyone who plays it must be required to witness a live chase.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Apr 07, 2009 @ 23:50:02

    Squeak!

    Reply

  2. nat @ book, line, and sinker
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 00:19:00

    he’s so cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and i love your glass! okay…but i wouldn’t really want him living in my house.

    Reply

    • megan
      Apr 08, 2009 @ 06:43:15

      I know…like I said, if he wasn’t likely disease-ridden, I so would have kept him.

      I like the glass too, especially since the orange lines are like little prison bars.

      Reply

  3. Joy
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 11:32:24

    OMG!!!! I can’t believe you did that!! I would have been up on a chair screaming!!! I hate mice. I live in the country and also have a barn and live around farmers so mice are a part of my life. That’s why I have cats. Some eat them and some just want to play with them until they are dead. While I do feel sorry for the damn mouse, I’m not about to try and catch them and put them outside. For every one you see, there are 20 that you don’t. EEEeeewwwwww………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

