On The Road, Day 5: A Postcard for Fred and a Stamp

On Sunday, Mike bought a Jazz DV151 Digital Camcorder from Walmart for a mere $20.  It runs on two AA batteries and a 2GB SD card, and is about the size of my own digital camera.  The video and sound quality is about what one would expect from such an affordable item, but it’s a neat thing to carry around to have ready whenever something needs to be recorded.  Mike has been using it almost nonstop since he bought it. I’m really surprised that the batteries held out until yesterday.  I bet it will completely break within the month.

Before I left on this great journey to the strange land of Ohio, I promised my friend Fred that I would send him a postcard.  Since I tend to overdo things, though, I decided to send him a postcard from every major place I stopped. That’s why he is getting a piece of mail from Ohio, West Virginia, Atlanta and the Detroit airport.

We trekked to a mall in Vienna, West Virginia yesterday.  At almost an hour away, it was the closest mall to our little hideaway in the Ohio hills, but we were getting restless and needed to immerse ourselves in a pool of consumerism for a bit.  Once that thirst was quenched, I decided that I should find a West Virginia postcard to send to Fred.  I also needed to find a stamp.

I had no idea it would be so difficult to find a simple postcard.  Every town I have ever set foot in, no matter how backwater or metropolitan, has at least one establishment that sells postcards.  We bounced from store to store looking for a postcard, only to be turned away by the proprietors who halfheartedly directed us somewhere across town.

With the help of his handy new Jazz DV151, Mike recorded the entire harrowing adventure.  So behold, gentle readers, my fabulous driving skills, my impromptu singing and my increasingly funky hair, which lost the fabulous luster it held before it started to drizzle.

For those interested, Mike also posted this video on Protozoic.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raggray
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 14:55:07

    The really great thing about traveling with Mike is that you never need to worry about people noticing YOUR funky hair!

    Reply

  2. fred
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 14:56:47

    I’m really glad that it only took you 6 minutes to find that card. It took me considerably longer to watch it on this computer.

    Reply

    • megan
      Mar 26, 2009 @ 15:06:40

      Fred, you jerk…
      We spent over two hours looking for a postcard for you. I didn’t think you wanted to see all of that footage, so we compressed it to the bare essentials for your convenience.
      Anyway, I would be flattered if you spent even six minutes finding a card for me…

      Reply

  3. Joy
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 18:34:17

    That was delightful to watch. I Laughed out loud several times. Loved the guy in the sweats!!!! Aren’t you more and more convinced each day that some people just don’t own a mirror?? I think it was so nice of you to go through all that work to find a post card and a stamp. It’s kind of sad in a way isn’t it? I hope Fred is joking. I don’t know him well enough to know that or not but I highly enjoyed the video and feel I know you so much better. It was great to see you and hear your voice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

