On The Road, Day 3a: Trouble Brewing

I have a problem.  I make bad coffee.  I don’t mean incredibly weak or strong, but I mean undrinkable.

It’s a strange thing: I consider myself to be a pretty good cook.  Heck, last night I turned a couple slices of “interesting” frozen fish into a fairly palatable meal.  So it’s not that I lack culinary knowhow.

Mike is the coffee maker in this relationship.  As he drinks more coffee in one day than should be allowed by law, he has coffee-brewing down to a science.  I have never drank a bad cup of coffee that he has made.

After several months, I have managed to figure out an acceptable proportion of coffee grounds to water to make a decent, drinkable cup of coffee in my teeny four-cup Mr. Coffee pot.  So I’m okay if I’m at home.  But I am terrible with other people’s coffee machines.  I don’t even bother touching them anymore, because I know what drips out of them will be a disgusting concoction that not even Coffee Mate can fix.

So, here’s my trouble this morning: Mike was up and moving before 5:30 this morning.  I don’t know why he couldn’t sleep, but this morning found him bouncing around as the sun came up while I tried to catch a few final Zs. After a couple hours, he tuckered out, and is now passed out again as if he had never gotten up.  But now I’m awake, and I want coffee.  I don’t want to wake him up, because he looks so cute with his eyes all scrunched up.  But today I think my need for coffee supersedes his need for extra sleep.

I really need to learn to make coffee for myself…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nat @ book, line, and sinker
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 20:50:41

    i don’t drink coffee…and was going to post about just that thing…until i saw your post. i didn’t want you to think i was poachin’!

    hope you’re having fun…

    Reply

  2. chadhend
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 09:37:01

    I suggest you bang the empty coffee pot on his head, saying, “Hey, sleepy head, Mamma needs some jo-jo.” That ought to work.

    I tend to try and make my coffee as strong as possible…

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Mar 26, 2009 @ 12:12:36

    Making good coffee is touchy. I use a pyrex cup and leave it in my coffee can and one scoop I know is good. Other people’s coffee pots are always weird to me. I hope your having a good time other than having to use the suppositories.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

