On The Road, Day 1

Greetings from the strange and faraway land of Ohio, where the sky is blue and clear and the internet is slow!  I am officially on Spring Break, gentle readers, so the next two weeks will be blogged while On The Road. Fortunately, I brought my camera and the wire to download photos to my laptop, so I won’t have to wait until I get home to share the sights I’ve seen.

After two plane rides and one almost-missed connection, I made it out here in one piece, much to my surprise.  I hate traveling by airplane.  Hurtling through the air at ungodly speeds in a pressurized tube isn’t natural.  I would much rather drive.  However, financial and time-related constraints made air travel the most feasible option this time, so I clenched my teeth, dug my nails into the arm rest and dealt with it.

The flight from Philadelphia to Detroit was tolerable.  I was seated next to a very nice, but very large man whose seat was much too narrow for his wide rump.  There was an incredibly cute, incredibly young kid in the seat across the aisle from me, and this was his first ride on an airplane.  When we left the gate, his mom asked, “Are you ready, Trey?”  He yelled in reply, “YEEEAAAAAHHH!!”  He was a better rider than me, that’s for sure.

The flight from Detroit to Columbus was much smaller, on a teeny plane that only contained twelve rows.  The seats were incredibly plush and comfortable, leaving me wondering why they can’t have them on larger flights.  All was well until we pulled up to the gate.  That’s when it happened. Someone farted.  It wasn’t an audible fart, but the silently deadly type that billowed through the cabin like a fog.  It was pretty foul.  I don’t know what I would have done if we hadn’t been about to step off the plane in a few moments.

This is why I prefer cars: if a traveling companion farts, windows can be rolled down.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nat @ book, line, and sinker
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 13:21:04

    so let me get this straight…you flew WEST, past columbus to detroit only to turn around and fly back EAST?! i swear. i don’t get air travel. i would have driven despite costs and time constraints. i just hhhhaaaattttteeee flying.

    my parents are hassling me because i want to drive to florida in 2 weeks. my dad keeps getting on the phone and saying, “just FLY! use my miles. i’ll rent you a car when you get here.” and i’m all like, “um, no but thanks.” 🙂 i think he’s afraid someone will steal me on the way. i’ve driven to florida alone before and it’s no big.

    i hope you have fun? in oHIo.

    nat (you know, curly wurly gurly…)

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 10:11:16

    Man, I hear ya, I hate flying! I can only think of one reason that I’d get into an airplane and that would be “bad news.” I don’t get air travel either. Flying in a complete opposite direction than where you heading.

    I hope you have a really fun trip and a good time. Who are you visiting?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

