I’m old.

No, not really.  I’m not that old.  I’m old compared to most of the eleven year olds I see each week, but that doesn’t really count.  I still have a couple years until I hit thirty.  So, I’m not old.

But I feel old.

Why?  Because, gentle readers, I just heard Cyndi Lauper on the radio.  On an oldies station.  An oldies station!

This is just as bad as when Full House and Roseanne began airing on Nick at Nite.

To me, an “oldie” is the stuff my parents grew up with and earlier: I Love Lucy, The Dick Van Dyke Show, The Beatles, Buddy Holly, Frankie Valli and the like.  Oldies radio stations used to play songs from the 50s and 60s. Now they play the 70s and 80s.  When did the music and television I grew up with become “oldies?”  I’m sorry, but Men at Work and The Police are not oldies.

I didn’t expect to feel this way until I had kids of my own, when they reached teendom and claimed my music was out of touch.  Somehow I got a head start on that part of my life.  How depressing.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ginny
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 00:18:48

    The other day, there was, like, 3 good songs in a row on the radio. I looked down to check out the station: “Lite FM”. Crap.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 11:07:59

    Last night I said my dad used to have an Elvis haircut and my granddaughter asked “who’s Elvis!” I know what you mean even though I’m a LOT older than you.

    Reply

  3. natalie
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 11:20:19

    hmph. i don’t have to look far to know i’m old. each school year, the age gap between my students and me gets a bit bigger. when i started teaching i was only a few years older than my 12th graders. now i’m old enough to have BIRTHED and parented my freshies. oh god. i love when they say things like ‘i was born in 1995!’ and i’m all like, um, 1995 was a few minutes ago. ha. i feel your pain.

    Reply

    • megan
      Mar 20, 2009 @ 23:52:39

      A couple years ago I realized that I was old enough to be the mother of more than half of my students.

      At a camp last summer, I figured out that I was older than all of the kids in my group combined.

      One of them asked me how old I was, and I replied that I was her mother’s age. She replied with, “Wow! That’s OLD!”

      Reply

  4. In10Words aka "Galileo"
    Mar 20, 2009 @ 13:25:46

    The newer people at my CVS job were now born in 1990 and 91. That scared the hell outta me and my fellow 21/22 year old bretheren.

    And the “oldies” station I listen to plays 80’s rock music. Of course, they don’t call it oldies, just Classic Rock. But, still.

    Reply

    • megan
      Mar 20, 2009 @ 23:53:55

      Even the classic rock stations don’t play classic rock anymore. (There is a difference between that and oldies.) I am now on a mission to find true classic rock stations and true oldies stations that actually play classic rock and oldies, respectively.

      Reply

  5. maleesha
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 22:43:34

    Yeah, I know what you mean. It’s hard to hear Guns N Roses on the classics station. But I did, just the other day. And we were interviewing a computer dude at work the other day, and used a few phrases like “Back in the day when I had to use Front Page 2003” and “I first used the internet when I was 8” Break out the cane and the wheelchair, sheesh.

    Reply

  6. Megan
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 21:22:52

    Totally follow! As soon as “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air” started airing on Nick — and I realized that my then-10-year-old cousin had no idea what it was — I knew it was all going to be downhill from there.

    I mean, seriously? “I got in one little fight and my mom got scared, and said, ‘You’re moving to your auntie and uncle in Bel Air!'” What kind of world do I live in where children everywhere can’t sing that song in unison? Or only know Will Smith from Men In Black?! WTF?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

