Mismatched mania

For years I was the owner of a motley, mismatched collection of dishes, glasses and silverware collected from bargain stores and relatives who took pity on a starving college kid who had nothing and used me as an excuse to buy shiny new things for themselves.  Now I am proud to say that for the most part, the dishes from which I eat my food match.

Owning a complete set of silverware from the same source is one of the last big steps I have taken into becoming a bona fide adult.  My furniture is big and heavy, and my couch is something other than a futon.  I have a matching set of dressers in my bedroom.  Granted, they are the same ones I have used since I was a kid, but dang it, they are good and solid, and they match my bed frame.  I have area rugs that did not come from IKEA.  And my dishes match.

At least, they match in the sense that they are the same brand.  You see, friends, my dishes are Fiesta, those heavy, colorful glazed dishes you see in department stores.  With the help of my future mom-in-law and a Fiesta outlet near her place, I have quickly replaced my cheap-o dollar store dishes with some real quality dishes.

There are so many colors to choose from, and it would be easy to collect a set of just red dishes, or just blue dishes.  However, I decided to be looser about the color of my dishes. It drives my mom crazy that I don’t have a complete place setting in one single color.  My reasoning is simple: if I find a color I like, I don’t want to have to justify buying it because it does or does not match what I already have.  And if a color I already own is discontinued, then I don’t have to stress out about buying a whole new set of dishes if a plate cracks.

This is where my weird little quirk comes in.  Since my dishes create such a rainbow in my cabinet, I find it extremely difficult to eat off two things of the same color in one meal.  For example, if I am using a green dinner plate, I cannot use green silverware.  If I am using an orange soup bowl, I cannot use an orange spoon, and I certainly cannot use the orange glass.  Take lunch today, for example.  I ate off a dark blue plate, using an orange fork and sipped my milk from a red, yellow and light blue striped glass.  Therefore, my lunch was a happy one.

This isn’t law or anything.  But I do think it is the closest to OCD that I have ever come.  It’s a little scary.  I didn’t realize I was this weird about my dishes until a friend pointed it out to me, a worried look on her face.

Gentle readers, this is your chance to make me feel like I am not an utterly complete freak.  If you have some inexplicable habit that has absolutely no bearing on anything except your own sanity, let’s hear about it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nutmegnanny
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 21:45:33

    I have a few:
    – I can only eat soup or cereal with a big spoon and can only eat ice cream with a small spoon.
    – I have to pour milk in my cereal bowl and add the cereal in small increments this way I can eat it in small portions that don’t get soggy.
    – I can’t eat hamburgers on anything but a hamburger bun…no sliced bread for me!

    I know there is more but I can’t seem to think of them…

    Reply

  2. natalie
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 21:58:27

    ohhhhh, i love homer and his fiesta! i have a few pieces of my own…but not a whole set. fiestaware is so cheery and never fails to put a smile on my face!

    as for dishes…well, i have a small problem there. i work p/t for a china and crystal company (for the last 8 years) and get LOTS of stuff. like WAAAY too much. i could have a dinner party for 50 on matching china. my husband hates it. 🙂

    love your dishes!

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 11:17:13

    I also have dinnerware like this and do JUST WHAT YOU DO!! This is a great topic. It’s not “fiesta” but I have blue, red, green and yellow. I never use the same colors when setting the table and have them organized in my cupboard blue, yellow, green, red and make sure nobody has the same colors. BUT, green and yellow canNOT be by each other as those are Packer colors!!

    I love this and can’t wait to see what other people say. BTW, I love my dishes.

    I’m just like nutmegnanny. I can only eat soup with a big spoon and can only eat ice cream with a small spoon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

