Banana bread

I have a really bad habit of buying fruit with the good intention of eating it, but I don’t always get to it before it goes bad.  This is why I usually buy bananas: if, for some reason, I don’t get around to eating them before they turn black, I can always make banana bread.

Good banana bread recipes are hard to find.  There is a delicate balance between density, texture and taste that must be found in the finished product. After much experimentation, I think I have finally perfected my recipe for the ultimate banana bread to meet my stringent requirements.  I use applesauce instead of shortening, and add some Grape Nuts for a bit of texture.  I would never eat them as a cereal because I don’t fancy breaking a tooth, but they do soften up in the baking process.

Incidentally, I have to sing praises to my future mother-in-law, who, for Christmas this year, gave me a fantastic set of silicon bakeware, which included a loaf pan.  You know, sometimes it doesn’t matter how much you grease the pan, because stuff will stick, and although it may taste good, it may not look suitable for public consumption.  I am seriously considering tossing my metal loaf pans, because this silicon loaf pan is the best thing since sliced bread.  Not one thing has stuck to it, and because of its pliable nature, I can easily remove breads without fear of tearing off the bottom.

Banana Bread

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup mashed ripe bananas (2 or 3)
  • 1/2 cup Grape Nuts cereal

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9″x5″x3″ loaf pan.

In a medium bowl, sift flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, mix sugar with applesauce.  Add eggs one at a time.  Mix in cinnamon and vanilla.

Alternately mix flour mixture, mashed bananas and Grape Nuts into applesauce mixture, just until combined.  Do not overmix.  Turn batter into greased loaf pan.

Bake 40-60 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan ten minutes before turning out onto cooling rack.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. In10Words aka "Galileo"
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 10:56:32

    Our prayers are answered, we have Banana Bread! 🙂

    First thing I thought of.

    Reply

  2. Joy
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 11:22:40

    This sounds awesome. I never eat all the fruit I buy either. I actually don’t even eat fruit but I buy it because it always looks so pretty in the store. I’m always looking for recipes like this. Everyone loves banana bread.

    Reply

  3. natalie
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:39:12

    wow! that looks great…but i detest bananas. i don’t like the weird-o film they leave on my teeth.

    as for the silicon pans…i’ve always wondered if they’re any good. thanks for the heads-up.

    Reply

  4. jonsquared
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:55:10

    Mmm…bop?

    Reply

  5. Gary
    Mar 04, 2009 @ 22:52:22

    I LOVE bananna bread! Thanks for sharing Megan. I’m going to give this a try!!

    Reply

  6. MAD MAN HATTER
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 14:28:31

    Try the new green veggie bags they do work! My wife bought some a few months ago and they have prolonged the ripping stage by almost a week on the fruit.

    Reply

  7. nikki
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 11:36:24

    My husband is a banana bread freak and so far the best he’s tried is from a damn gas station!!! I will try this recipe and probably add chocolate chips to it. I also have been wanted to try those silicon pans, I’ll have to pick some up. I don’t know of anyone else that has tried them. Thanks for the recipe Megan!!

    Reply

  8. Megan
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 12:22:16

    Wow, that looks… delicious! I freaking love banana bread. I’ve never tried to make it myself — I’ve gotten a bit out of habit regarding “learning to cook,” since I apparently just suck at it — but I think I’ll try this one soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

