Cardetto 2007

For a while I was partial to Pinot Grigio, preferring to drink only that with which I cooked my salmon.  It was an excellent choice for summer, but as the months dragged on, and the cold, dank feeling of the doldrums of winter sank in, I found that a red wine was more appropriate.  And so, I turned to Cabernet Sauvignon.  Lighter than other reds, I find it a perfect pairing with a meal, but it also stands alone quite well, allowing one to quickly feel the effects of the alcohol without the hinderance of food.

I rarely buy a bottle of wine that costs more than $15-$20.  I’ve had some incredibly good wines for about $10.  The glass you see above was not one of them.  Too tangy, with a strange aftertaste.  Definitely not a stand alone wine.  A real disappointment.

In other news, I finally sort of figured out how to use the Photoshop Elements, almost two months after it was installed.  The photo above was an experiment with layers and blurring.  Not perfect, but certainly not bad for a Photoshop virgin, if I do say so myself.

What’s your poison?  Do you prefer reds, whites or blushes?  Beer?  Hard liquor?  Or do you steer clear of the devil’s drink altogether?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gary
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 01:58:57

    I never have been a big drinker by any means. Oh sure, I had my fun in my early 20’s but afer I got married I slowed down. I started taking prescription meds about two years ago and I’m not supposed to drink ANYTHING alcoholic. I have about three glasses of white wine a year and about 12 Corona’s a year.

    Nice job on the photo! I like it a lot! 🙂

    Reply

  2. jonsquared
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 08:13:03

    My devil’s drink of choice depends on the occasion but my preference is beer. I drink wine sparingly but when I do prefer Oregon pinot noir. Hard alcohol is reserved only for St. Patrick’s Day, which, thankfully, I happen to celebrate year-round.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

