I don’t want to go on the cart

Although I’m not dead yet, I feel like I should be.  Whatever this bug is that has taken over my body has knocked me on my cute butt.  I’ll spare you the gritty details; we’ll leave it at lots of coughing and barely enough energy to sit up for extended periods of time.  How bad is it?  Let’s put it this way: I never take off work, and I stayed home sick today, exhausting my supply of tea, toast, chicken soup and Theraflu.

I’m pretty sure it’s either TB or the plague.  And I’m convinced I got it from one of my precious little students.  Whatever it is, my throat is raw and my torso aches from all the coughing.  Fun times.

I’ve determined that part of what’s irritating my throat so badly is the absolute lack of moisture in the air.  For a state that gets downright swampy in the summer, New Jersey sure does become arid in the winter.  Heck, the hygrometer atop my piano is just blank.  Once I’m well enough to trust myself behind the wheel of the Penguinmobile again, I plan to go out and get a humidifier.

After doing some research I’ve found that every single model available to the public is adored by some and condemned by others.  So, since customer reviews didn’t help me, I decided to go for a reasonably priced one-gallon Crane Cool Mist Humidifier.  Why this humidifier?  That’s easy: because it comes in adorable animal shapes.  The way I figure, if I’m sick, I want a cute animal to help cheer me up.

I’ve decided which brand of humidifier I want, but I’m a bit stuck on which model to get.  I can’t decide between the frog, the elephant or the penguin. Check them out:

(Click the images to embiggen.)

Cute, huh?  Well, gentle readers, this is where you come in.  I’m torn between the three, so I’m leaving the decision up to you.  (I’m also using this as an excuse to test out the poll function that I just noticed after so long.)  The poll will remain open for twenty four hours.

Incidentally, I came up with the first names.  I thought they would be a little more interesting than “Penguin” or “Frog.”  This is what I do when I’m sick, folks.

Update: Thanks for voting, gentle readers.  It looks like Pedro Penguin and his peewee pee-pee is the winner!  I was leaning towards getting him, anyway.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. curlywurlygurly
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 09:31:47

    sorry, can’t vote. i’m too distracted by the fact that the penguin looks like it has a penis. i’m sorry…but that’s what i see. help me, dr. freud!

    Reply

  2. curlywurlygurly
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 09:31:59

    oh, and hope you’re feeling better soon!!!

    Reply

  3. Gary
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 12:17:08

    VOTE FOR PEDRO

    Reply

  4. Joy
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 13:45:06

    I’m sitting here laughing at curlywirlygurly…..it’s kind of “smallish” isn’t it???? LMAO!!!! OMG!!!!!!

    Okay, serious!!!! This is so my subject. I have three humidifiers in my house. A big one in the living room that I really like. It’s got to pretty big tanks so filling them up is only once a day. I have 2 smaller ones in the kitchen and my bedroom. It’s very dry in MN too in the winter and my skin literally hurts if the air is to dry. My only advice is make sure you keep them full at all times. That’s why the filters wear out soon for many people. If they don’t stay moist, they dry out and the water won’t go through them. I just check mine so many times during the day and end up just keeping them full most of the time. Also, check the price of the filters before you buy. I had one once that took 3 filters at $6 apiece and you do have to change them every 3-4 weeks. You can rinse them out but they don’t work properly if you do that more than once.

    The penguin is darling.

    Reply

  5. Amy Hunter
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 19:16:31

    I love the penguin, but now I’m gonna laugh every time I see one of those in the store. I have a humidifier on my furnace, but I also have one in my bedroom since I’m also in Minnesota and it’s too dang dry here in the winter.

    So have you ever tried a Neti pot? You use it to rinse out your sinuses with a saltwater/baking soda solution. I’ve yet to use one with a cold or flu (haven’t had one since I got mine last fall), but I love it for helping with my chronic sinus problems.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

  6. megan
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 21:18:33

    CWG: See, this is how sick I was…I usually spot phallic insinuations everywhere. I can’t believe I didn’t see it here.

    Gary: Darn tootin’!

    Joy: Very good advice, there. I hadn’t thought about the filters before. I’ll be sure to consult you if I have any humidifying issues, since you seem to be the resident expert.

    Amy: I have indeed tried a Neti pot! I’ve got one in my medicine cabinet right now. It is one of the strangest sensations, but it definitely works. I haven’t used it this time around, because I haven’t really been stuffy at all.

    Thanks for the well wishes, y’all!

    Reply

  7. jonsquared
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 00:27:56

    i vote for the frog because it’s green and the least likely to break into song; the elephant looks like a pedophile; and the positioning of the penguin’s knob is disturbingly vulgar. so there…

    hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

  8. nikki
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 00:58:09

    If I had anything in my mouth I’d be spitting it out! LMAO…the penguin DOES have a penis, and I didn’t notice it either Megan!!! I can see why Joy has been chuckling all day! I vote for froggie, I think he’s the cutest! Get better soon!!!!

    Reply

  9. Megan
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 12:31:53

    It’s Wednesday now, so I’m hoping you’re feeling much better! 🙂 I’ll send my super-serious-and-super-healing fellow-Megan good vibes your way!

    Reply

  10. Matt
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 17:22:25

    I voted for the well-endowed penguin, it is winter after all, and these things happen abd Pedro doesn’t look too phased by it. Somehow, a penguin with a penis dial seems less weird than a frog with one, and why that is I don’t know, but I’m sure Darwin could explain it.

    Reply

  11. chadhend
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 06:48:30

    Haha, too bad I missed the voting, but I would have gone for the penguin anyway. The frog looks psychotic, and I’m not sure I would want whatever comes out of the elephants trunk. Hope you are feeling better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

