Laundry day

It’s laundry day here at Casa de Insomniac.  Since all my regular clothes need to be washed, that means one of two things: I either wear a) grungy old sweats that I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing in public, or b) my best recital gown.  If I choose the latter, I go ahead and do my hair and paint my face. After all, it’s not every day I get to look like a princess.  It truly makes me feel like a bona fide domestic goddess.

Today, though, I opted for the sweats.

I don’t actually do my laundry here at the apartment.  There are three washers and three dryers in the building, but I hate to use them for a number of reasons.  I have to time my washing precisely for when they are not in use by any of my neighbors, and this is extremely difficult to do.  And the dryers in this building suck.  They never dry the clothes completely, so you have to run the cycle twice.  Besides, the basement is dark, dank and downright scary.  It is crawling with dark corners, skeevy neighbors and eight-legged assassins that drop from the low ceiling.  No thank you very much.

The biggest deterrent, though, is the fact that I have to pay to do my laundry. It costs $1.50 per wash, and another $1.50 per dry.  That’s $3 per load, and with three to four loads per week that need to be dried more than once, you’d better bet your bottom that I hoarded quarters like they were going out of style.

Basically, when we were looking for apartments, we found two types of setups.  The first type had washers and dryers in the apartments themselves, but the renters had to pay all the utilities.  The second type had pay laundry facilities technically in the building, but heat and water was free.  We opted for the latter.  It saved a lot of money, what with the price of gas these days, but it was still expensive enough for us to count pennies each month.

This year I decided to take advantage of the fact that my grandparents live within a reasonable driving distance and do my laundry there.  I can do as many loads as I want, and all they ask in return is the pleasure of my company and the opportunity to feed me because they think I’m too skinny. Most of the time they set me up in the finished basement in front of the TV and a wood burning stove with a cup of tea and a bowl of potato chips.  With the warmth of the fire and the coziness of my grandfather’s plush leather recliner, I usually end up nappinating for a couple hours, so my grandmother happily folds my clothes and asks if there is anything else she can do for me. Grandparents are the best.

Because of a temporarily wonky schedule and last week’s ice storm, I didn’t have the opportunity to visit my grandparents for a couple weeks.  I was not about to venture into the depths of my scary basement, so a giant pile of dirty laundry built up in my hamper.

Unfortunately, I don’t have three weeks worth of fresh clean clothes.  So after a while I did the only logical thing: I wore some clothes again.

Don’t look at me that way.  We’ve all done it.

Jeans are a no-brainer.  Unless they are caked in mud or start sticking to me, I will wear them for at least a week without washing them.

Tops are also recyclable, particularly sweaters.  I don’t sweat enough to drench my clothes in a stinky residue.  Therefore, when it comes to tops, a simple smell test is all that is required.  I do try not to wear exactly the same outfit two days in a row, especially if I will see the same people, so I usually mix and match my dirty clothes.

Although I will wear relatively outer clothing again and again, providing they aren’t too funky, I refuse to don underwear or socks more that once before washing.  If I happen to run out, I just run to Target and buy new ones.  In fact, I’m sporting a brand new pair of Hanes right now.  They are green with blue polka dots.  I figure no one can have too many pairs of underwear or socks.

My question to you, gentle readers, is this: how many times are you willing to recycle an article of clothing before washing it?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. curlywurlygurly
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 08:00:58

    you know, sometimes i can’t find the “button” to push to leave a comment. i’m a bit blind like that.

    okay, on to laundry…which i despise. i will recycle jeans for a few wearings–sweaters too. i wash shirts, camis, undergarments, and body towels after one wearing/use.

    if i were you, i’d head off to the laundry place–you can do all the washing at once–take up 10 machines, and watch tv while you’re at it. it’s worth it.

    Reply

  2. Doraz
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 10:36:57

    As long as my clothes stay clean and do not smell really bad, I keep wearing them! Under garments are a different story!

    Reply

  3. Joy
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 11:38:14

    You freaking crack me up!!! I love how you say what other’s just think!! LMAO!!!

    I will wear clothes over again as long as they “look” clean and “smell” clean. I know when it’s time for them to hit the hamper. My one “quirk” is that once they land in there, I wouldn’t dig them out and put them on. Once there, eeewww!!

    Other than you get to enjoy the fire, grandpa’s recliner, chips and gram’s folding your laundry, it’s a no brainer to go there. I bet they really look forward to you going there also. If not for them, I’d hit the laundromat like curly said and get it all done in an hour. I hate waiting between loads.

    Reply

  4. faryle
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 14:13:26

    I totally agree! Jeans can easily go a week. Tops I kind of have a two time rule, but let’s be honest, sometimes I forget how many times I’ve worn something since I’ve washed it. In comes the smell test.

    But underwear and socks are a one time thing before they need to be washed. And I so used to do the same thing in college. I hated using the overly priced washers and dryers that didn’t actually dry anything, so I would buy new underwear and socks at Target. Who doesn’t like new, cute underwear?

    Reply

  5. Amy Hunter
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 18:35:13

    Underwear and socks only get one wear before washing. Other than that, it is a matter of how close it is to my skin and how dirty it is. I do tend to do my shirts after only one wear, but sweaters go much longer. Slacks are washed less frequently than shirts, but more often than sweaters.

    Reply

  6. Gary
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 15:09:51

    I guess I am the odd man out here. ROFL!! EVERYTHING I wear gets washed after wearing it once. I’m just anal I suppose. 🙂

    Your grandparents sound AWESOME!!

    Reply

  7. megan
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 20:31:48

    I’m glad to know that, with one exception, I’m not a total weirdo. (I’m talking to you, Gary. You’re the weirdo over here.)

    Reply

  8. Gary
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 23:28:34

    LOL Thanks Megan! I really appreciate that. ROFL!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

