Happiness, thy name is Michel Cluizel

Call me a material girl, but one of the perks of being a teacher is the extra Christmas gifts.

I have to admit I was a bit dismayed my first couple years of teaching.  Sure, I got a few practical gifts like Barnes & Noble gift cards.  Mostly, though, it was lotions and scented candles.  Not that I don’t like either of those, but that was almost ALL I got.  And considering that some of them smelled a little questionable, it wasn’t a great couple years for student gifts.  (We’ll save those candles for another post.)

Something happened this year, though: most of my students gave me chocolate.  I’m talking giant boxes of chocolate.  There were Ferrero Rochers, there were Ghirardelli squares, there were Lindt truffles, there was homemade fudge. Possibly the most delightful of the chocolate, though, was the box of Michel Cluizel chocolates.

Oh, George, are these some amazing chocolates.  I mean, I worked at Godiva for a couple years, so I know about good chocolate.  But during the duration of my employment there I never came across chocolates like these.  Each bite sized piece was a delight to the taste buds, a creamy filling surrounded by a thin shell of the finest, most refined cocoa that only an Oompa Loompa could make.  I could easily feel right at home eating these chocolates with a glass of wine at a swanky party, all the while letting the chocolate take me to a new height of sophistication.  Pretty classy, huh?

The piece pictured to the right was once an unassuming little ball of milk chocolate.  Only once I bit into it did I discover an unbelievable hazelnut praliné filling encased in a layer of superbly crunchy toffee.  I’ll let you in on a little secret, gang: chocolate, hazelnut and toffee is one of my all time favorite taste combinations, so this piece was a winner.  Eating this piece was as if there was a party in my mouth and everyone there was skinny dipping in the chocolate fountains.

This is not to say that the other gifts my students bestowed upon me were substandard.  On the contrary, they were all quite lovely this year.  I’m just saying that I don’t usually get such a luxurious box of chocolate from a student (I know where he bought it, and that store is a little out of my league), or from anyone, for that matter.

So here we are, a good six to eight weeks since I received my box of delights, and I am delighted that I have only now finished the box.  All but one piece, that is: a small square of rich dark chocolate dusted with gold flakes remains.  I am so proud of myself that I managed to stretch out my devouring of these gourmet chocolates over a month and a couple weeks, eating only one piece a day, if that.

Here goes….nom.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 10:48:51

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your chocolate. Me, I never fell into that “sweet tooth” thing but I know many who love it. I love salt. That’s my BIG downfall.

    I never knew what to buy my boys teachers either. I hope I did okay. What do you teach?

    Reply

  2. Mike
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 12:15:52

    Do the chocolates have real gold on them?

    Reply

  3. megan
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 15:14:48

    Joy: I’m a salt freak, too. But I seem to go through stages of cravings every few weeks, shifting between salty and chocolaty. The best is finding something salty covered in something chocolaty.

    I’m a piano teacher who is always surprised when her students bring her gifts. I’m sure you did just fine.

    Mike: That’s what the box said. Real gold shavings. I assume it’s like the stuff in the bottom of a bottle of Goldschläger. Nom nom nom…

    Reply

  4. nikki
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 20:37:06

    Lindt truffles are my favorite! I cannot believe there is one better…I MUST try!

    Reply

  5. nikki
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 20:40:11

    I just goggled them…holy batman they are expensive!!

    Reply

  6. megan
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 22:11:14

    Nikki: I know, right? That’s why I think this was a one-time treat for my tongue. I could never afford to do it again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

