Sunday Afternoon

The Winter Weather Event that just missed me a couple weekends ago did produce a bit of snow not a few moments down the road.  That Sunday I took my dinky camcorder to the park to film the results.

This short is my first venture outdoors to film.  It is also an experiment with the prerecorded loops in GarageBand.  In typical fashion, after a full year of owning the program, I only just recently realized the potential of that feature.

Although ice was melting from trees and buildings, it was still incredibly frigid.  My eyes deceived me, and I did not dress properly for the occasion, thus greatly reducing the time I was able to stand outside with the camera. What made it particularly cold was the strong wind that chilled me down to the bone.  I had a couple of fantastic shots of the marina that proved unusable because the tripod was literally shaking in the wind.

I would also like to direct your attention to the goose walking across the ice in the middle of the short.  Just after it walked out of the frame, a deep creaking and groaning could be heard.  The goose froze in its tracks, looking around as if one of its goose friends would tell it what to do.  It gingerly took another step, and another deep groan emerged from the pond.  I turned my camera towards the scene, secretly hoping that I could catch on film the goose falling into the water.  No such luck; it made it safely back to land.

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raggray
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 09:45:16

    I love the peaceful poetry of a winter day that you have captured. Well done!

    Reply

  2. Susi Spice
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 10:03:16

    wow thats gorgeous… ive never seen snow… the closest ive come to snow is the ice accumulating in my freezer… does that count? hehe.

    Reply

  3. megan
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 12:29:58

    raggray: Thanks! You have a way of describing it that makes it feel legitimate. 🙂

    Susi: Snow is pretty and all, but it’s a pain when you have to shovel it and/or brush it off your car. That said, you should try to visit someplace with snow at least once to say that you’ve had the experience.

    Reply

  4. chadhend
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 07:41:37

    Wow, that turned out really good 🙂 It looks really pretty where you are. Now be honest, that was you running in the background at the beginning of the video, wasn’t it? 😉

    Reply

  5. jonsquared
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 09:32:36

    fantastic! and that music accompaniment was perfect for the mood of the visuals. i especially like the raindrops scenes. great job!

    Reply

  6. megan
    Jan 31, 2009 @ 09:44:34

    Chad: Yes, where I live has its moments of beauty. But that would be a big negatory on my running through the video, either at the beginning or the end. Not that I don’t try to stay in shape: I occasionally dance and do Pilates, but I most certainly do not run. Besides…that was a dude at the beginning.

    Jon: Thanks!

    Reply

  7. Matt
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 15:21:58

    Some nice editing in the video, and the choice of fingerstyle guitar suits the scene well. I liked it, very calming seeing the jogger come into shot, and then there’s that jogger again going in the opposite direction in the background, then later, wait for it, the jogger jogging along over the bridge. I’m noticing a theme here 😛

    Joking aside, I liked it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

