Snow day!

So here we are at 7:05 in the morning.  Normally this is an unholy hour for me: waaaaaaay too early to be up and about.  But two things have awakened me: a hungry kitty cat and a ballet class.

Every other day of the week my work day begins at 3:00.  Because I teach piano lessons to kids, I can’t begin working until they get out of school.  I know, you’re thinking “Wow, that must be great to not have to work until 3:00 every day!”  I’d have to agree with you, except it does have its drawbacks. First of all, my work day doesn’t end until nearly 9:00 at night.  Secondly, being a piano teacher pays beans, so I have a second job during the day to pay the bills: playing for ballet classes a couple mornings each week.  This morning is one of those mornings.

Groggy and incoherent, I stumbled to my laptop this morning to check my email.  Then, I noticed something strange.  My local Facebook community was abuzz about a snow day.  What?

Each of my jobs has a weather hotline that can be called to find out if classes and lessons have been cancelled due to inclement weather.  My first instinct was to phone the music school’s hotline – silly, since I don’t have to be there until this afternoon.  Expecting the same standard message, I dialed the number.

This is why I never get my hopes up about snow days, and why I convince myself that I’ll have to drive through snow and ice and slush: because when I actually do get a snow day, I am pleasantly and genuinely surprised.

I have a snow day!!!  Eeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

Well…sort of.  You see, the ballet school has still not closed.  I think they pride themselves upon staying open when no one else does.  There is a major problem with this, and a problem with that problem.  First is that a decision is not usually made until after 8:00am.  The problem with that is that I have to start getting ready to go before 8:00am.  So, the question remains: do I wait it out and risk being late for the possibility of not having to go at all, or do I go ahead and hop in the shower, risking the loss of my comfy, half-sleepy state?

Edit (7:32am): Like any normal kid who doesn’t want to go to school, I’ve been calling the ballet school’s weather hotline every two minutes to see if anything has changed.  And yippee skippee, at 7:25am a new message was on the line!  That means…

SNOW DAY!!!!!!!!
EEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!

Since I’m already up, I can’t exactly sleep in.  But at least I can relax by knowing I can spend the day in my jammies.

Here’s wishing you a snow day, wherever you may be.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chadhend
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 07:53:23

    Haha, good for you 🙂 Here in Sweden they don’t really have snow days, just as California does not have sun days. But I’m glad you get to laze about there. You can also practice feeling sorry for those poor, poor people having to go out in the snow anyway (as a way of increasing your snow day pleasure). Though I’m sure you already know how to do that 🙂

    Reply

  2. biz319
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 14:17:16

    Horray for snow days!

    I lived in Virginia for a year many moons ago – I am from the midwest, so walking to school with snow up to my knees was a common occurrence.

    I worked at a bank, and as I was getting dressed I heard on the radio of schools closing, offices, then MY bank! I look outside and there was 1/2 an inch of snow on the ground! I couldn’t believe it!

    Have fun with your day!

    Reply

  3. curlywurlygurly
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:06:21

    that is SO beat! we had a dreaded “DELAYED OPENING”…and the kicker? we got to school late, half the kids didn’t come, and then we closed EARLY for fog. so, i spent more time getting ready and driving to and from work than i actually did AT work. my boss is an ass-hat.

    Reply

  4. megan
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:49:14

    Chad: So what does the weather have to do for you to get out of work?

    Biz: Thanks for stopping by! I experienced the same phenomenon when I lived in Georgia – the state would completely shut down the moment a couple of flakes were spotted. Weird.

    CWG: I was actually wondering early afternoon why they closed schools for the whole day. I mean, it was 50 degrees out there, for crying out loud! But then the fog rolled in and I couldn’t see my car from my apartment, and I understood. Sorry the day was sort of a waste…

    Reply

  5. Joy
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 12:25:44

    I’m in Minnesota so we have a lot of snow days. They aren’t as much “snow” days though, more like “cold” days. We had three closings two weeks ago due to -30 cold. We are used to the snow and learn to drive in it. I mean heck, we live like this for four months so we have to adapt to it but when it gets that cold, it’s unsafe for the kids.

    Reply

  6. megan
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 12:28:12

    Joy: I can’t even fathom weather that cold. The worst I’ve experienced is 7 (without the wind chill), and fortunately I didn’t have to leave the house. You must be tough!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

