Snow storm, my foot

It seems that there is a Winter Storm Warning in effect for my neighborhood tonight and tomorrow.  Winter Storm Warnings are always much more interesting than Winter Storm Watches because while a Watch tells you to do just that – “Watch out, a storm may or may not be coming!” – a Warning tells you that a storm is imminent.

My reaction: meh.  I’ll believe it when I see it.

The truth is that I live smack dab in the middle of No Snow Land.  Countless Watches and Warnings have been issued over the years, but few have came to fruition, thus dashing my hopes of a snow day to smithereens.  The meteorological conditions here are perfect for an unexpected burst of unseasonal warmth, diverting the snow storm at the last second so that some other lucky kid farther north gets a snow day.

Sometimes it seems like everyone is getting snow except me.  Take the last Winter Weather Event that hit our area: my neighbors not twenty minutes from me got about a half foot of snow.  Here in No Snow Land we got a couple hours of freezing rain (equally dangerous to drive in, if not more so, but definitely not as fun).  It seemed that the system decided to just leap-frog right over me.

Don’t ask me why I saved a screenshot of the local radar map that day. Whatever the reason, it comes in handy today to illustrate my point:

no snow for me

You can see why I take little credence in the empty promises of meteorologists.  I added some quickly-drawn snowflakes to emphasize the fact that it was snowing there, but not here.  I also illustrated me with tears streaming down my face and a blue bow in my hair, which is a pinkish-orangish hue because I couldn’t find my brown marker.

That’s right: I don’t have Photoshop or any cool software like that, so I printed out my map, drew on it, and scanned it back in.  I am ghetto-fabulous.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 15:54:44

    God, I hate freezing rain! There’s absolutely nothing that kills the joy of an almost-snow day like freezing rain. Hoping you have snowier days in your future! 🙂

    Reply

  2. curlywurlygurly
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 21:37:20

    wow…that’s some serious effort to create the funny map! i love it and didn’t realize you were a fellow jersey-ite. 🙂 i’m over by the M in ‘AM’…right along the coast where we NEVER get more than a few inches.

    i’m sad that you live in the bermuda triangle of snow but hope you get a few flakes tomorrow. i’m doing the SNOW DAY dance–my school is further north and i refuse to drive in snow…

    Reply

  3. maleesha
    Jan 27, 2009 @ 22:50:02

    I love you.

    Because of that, I am going to send you some of the snow I have. There is a lot to go around. I hope it doesn’t melt before it gets there. Please, add more of your ghetto fabulous drawings because I had a poopy day and when I opened this page, and saw the paint art, I was happy again.

    Reply

  4. chadhend
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 04:38:00

    Haha, you are ghetto fabulous! And so cool that you are taking the whole Aretha Franklin/Michelle Obama bow thing and running with it. I never knew the distinction between a Watch and a Warning before. In Southern California we just had disasters. Everything – even rain on the freeway or a puddle in someone’s backyward – counted as a disaster.

    Reply

  5. megan
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 07:41:32

    Megan 2: I think that’s what is forecasted here. Beautiful snow all night, then nothing but rain tomorrow. Yuck.

    CWG: I knew you were in Jersey, too, but dang…you’re downright close!
    You’re right…I DO live in the Bermuda Snow Triangle. I just never had a name for it.
    Do the Snow Day Dance hard, friend. A few of my other friends are doing it, too. Maybe if we all pool our collective Snow Dance energies, we can have off tomorrow. I could really use it.

    Maleesha: Awww, I love you, too!
    I will be happy to take any unwanted snow off your hands.
    I’m sure I can add more drawings. I’m not a very good artist, so they’ll probably make you smile again. Glad I could help!

    Chad: Actually, I added the bow because without it my drawing looked like a long-haired boy. It was the only way I could think of to make me a little more feminine. But I was thinking less Aretha Franklin and more Minnie Mouse.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

