Shower power

Every once in a while, someone on GraphJam makes a pie chart that really speaks to me.  It happened the other day when I saw this:

I’ve lived in a couple places (my parents’ home included) where showers must be short and efficient in order to conserve hot water.  In some cases it mattered not how many people had taken showers before me, because there was never any hot water.  That’s when military showers were appropriate and necessary.

I am fortunate now to live in an apartment where there is an abundance of hot water, which gives me the luxury of taking long, leisurely hot showers when I so desire.  In fact, there is so much hot water that I often have trouble tempering the water to a degree that will not scald me when I simply walk into the bathroom.  It’s one of the lesser problems I am faced with these days, so I’m really not complaining.

Unfortunately, I have to let the water run for a while before stepping in, because the hot water must be diluted with the cold, and that takes time.  It doesn’t seem to matter whether I turn on the cold water first or last; it always takes a few minutes for the hot water to allow the cold water to insinuate itself in the stream.  It really is a waste of water.  But this morning it took a good fifteen minutes for the cold water to kick in!  That’s a little ridiculous, if I do say so myself.

How’s the water situation at your place?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chadhend
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 05:47:21

    Haha, it IS hard to find the right temperature in the shower. Most of the places I have lived at don’t have the problem of too hot or too cold, but that the temperature fluctuates as you are taking the shower – and you never know when it is going to happen, haha.

    I think there should be an extra wedge on that chart for “Thinking about how you don’t want to get out of the shower and start your day.”

    I’ve had temperature fluctuations in my other homes, too, especially when someone else flushes a toilet or turns on a faucet. This complication would necessitate one to announce to the entire household that one was about to take a shower, and hoping that no one forgot and decided to use the other bathroom.

    Reply

  2. jonsquared
    Jan 24, 2009 @ 15:00:11

    i thankfully shower at the gym five days a week and always have an abundance of hot water there. on the other two days, i take long, leisurely bubble baths. no, i don’t. i was just kidding about that…

    See, that’s where my phobia of public showers would interfere with that routine if I were in your shoes.
    Don’t knock bubble baths, dude. They are very soothing and refreshing. I know some very manly men who take them and are no less manly for doing so.

    Reply

  3. Photoqueen
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 15:17:11

    What a funny graph! I’m blessed to live in a house where flushing the toilet has no effect on the shower temperature or pressure. It’s some kind of shower miracle, I tell ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

