Thumbprint cookies

I’m not the biggest fan of jelly, except if it is on a sandwich with peanut butter.  Jelly-filled cookies and doughnuts don’t appeal to me in the slightest.  However, my grandmother changed my mind when she made a batch of thumbprint cookies a few weeks ago.  They were so delicious, I just had to make some myself.

This recipe is adapted from a Betty Crocker cookbook my grandmother had lying around.  I used almond extract instead of vanilla; it complements the nuts and the jelly so well.  I also used Polaner All Fruit spread; it is a little tarter, since there is no sugar added, but it contrasts the sweetness of the cookies quite nicely.  Half of the cookies were topped with seedless raspberry, the other half seedless blackberry.  As for the nuts, I had a can of Fisher Nut Topping leftover from my sundae bar at my birthday party.  The nuts were already chopped pretty finely, but for good measure I threw them in a sandwich bag and rolled over them with the rolling pin.  I found that pressing into the center of the cookie again after baking made the indentation even more pronounced, and thus easier to fill with jelly.

This recipe doesn’t make very many cookies; I think I only filled one cookie sheet with the recipe below.  However, they take no time at all to make, so doubling or tripling the recipe is quite easy, and also quite necessary.

Thumbprint Cookies

  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup finely chopped nuts
  • jelly

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Mix brown sugar, shortening, butter, vanilla and egg yolk in a medium bowl.  Stir in flour and salt until the dough holds together.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls.  Beat egg white slightly.  Dip each ball into egg white, then roll in nuts.  Place about 1 inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Press thumb deeply into the center of each ball.

Bake about 10 minutes, or until light brown.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cool completely on a wire rack.  Once cooled, fill with jelly.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bloggingexperiments
    Dec 09, 2008 @ 14:26:56

    Ooo…those cookies look delicious!

    Hope you don’t mind but “You’ve been tagged!!”
    Here are the rules to the Game.

    You link back to the person that tagged you.

    Share 7 random/weird things about yourself.

    Tag 7 people and link to them.

    Leave a notice on their comments letting them know you have tagged them. And the game goes on.

    http://bloggingexperiments.wordpress.com

    They are quite delicious, thanks!

    As for the randomness tag, I’ll happily direct folks here, where it’s about as random as I can get.

    Reply

  2. Betty
    Dec 10, 2008 @ 00:24:48

    Hello There,
    Was sent over by Blogging experiments, from her current post. These cookies look great! I’m going to save this recipe, Thanks for sharing!

    http://thejoereview.com/

    Hello, yourself! Thanks for stopping by. Let me know how your cookies turn out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

