Kinderszenen, Op. 15 (Selections)

On September 21, I shared a recital with a colleague, performing works for piano solo and piano duet by Robert Schumann and Claude Debussy.  Overall, I’m fairly pleased with the result, considering that the recital was planned relatively last-minute.  I just got the final recording, and thought I’d post some pieces I performed that I feel weren’t too shabby.  The recording was live, so everything was captured, including shuffling, coughing, and my own unfortunate flubs.  Do try to ignore those.

* * * * * * * * * *

Robert Schumann (1810-1856) began work on his Scenes from Childhood (Kinderszenen) in 1837, the same year he became engaged to Clara Wieck.  Composed to capture the essence of youth, Schumann chose thirteen of his original thirty “quaint little things” to make up the collection.  They are, in fact, simple and sincere with a sense of childlike wonder, but certainly not designed for children’s fingers, as some are quite technically demanding.  The poetic titles of each individual piece, Schumann wrote, are “nothing more than delicate hints for execution and interpretation.”

 

I. Von fremden Ländern und Menschen (About Strange Lands and People)
(1:42)

 

IV. Bittendes Kind (Pleading Child)
(0:52)

 

IX. Ritter vom Steckenpferd (Knight of the Rocking-Horse)
(0:45)

 

XI. Fürchtenmachen (Frightening)
(1:35)

 

XII. Kind im Einschlummern (Child Falling Asleep)
(1:50)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brad
    Dec 07, 2008 @ 23:21:42

    Good work! I always screw up on solos, mainly because of the nerves.

    Thank you! Nerves are usually my mortal enemy. I’m surprised I didn’t screw up more.

    Reply

  2. bloggingexperiments
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 01:54:25

    I loved Ritter vom Steckenpferd. I’m sure it was a difficult piece to play, but it must have been such fun too! What a talent…nice job. 🙂

    I love that one too. Surprisingly, it’s not as technically difficult as most of the other pieces in the set, but it took me longer to learn. Strange. Thanks for listening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

