Seasons greetings

Now that Thanksgiving has passed, I feel like it is safe to start decorating for the upcoming holiday.  So, this weekend I will be lugging the large boxes of Christmas décor up from the dank, scary basement of my apartment, which can only be reached by going outside into the cold, throwing the contents onto every horizontal surface available, then lugging the empty boxes back downstairs.

I’m a bit hesitant about putting up the tree this year.  It’s nothing special, just a fake, 5-footer from Target, bought on sale for $20 about three or four years ago.  So, if anything happened to it, I wouldn’t be heartbroken.  However, this is my first Christmas with a cat, so I’m a little unsure about the juxtaposition of Christmas trees and kitten curiosity.  I can picture Bonnie trying to climb it, probably when I’m not at home, causing it to topple over onto her poor little body, thus emotionally scarring her for life.  The point is, I’m more worried about the cat than I am about the tree.  If there are any cat owners out there with advice, do feel free to send some my way.

I’ve even decided to get in the festive mood here at Melodic Insomniac.  Those of you who read my posts only via RSS really should stop by the actual blog and check out the weather.

In addition to decking my halls with boughs of holly, it’s also the season for Christmas cards.  I realize that I must be a little loony, but I really do love sending and receiving Christmas cards, perhaps even more so than everything else about Christmas.  I suppose it goes back to my complex about receiving actual letters in the mail.  I tape them to my walls, stick them on my fridge, line my doorways with those I have received.  It’s one of the best things about this season!

To me, cards are more in the intended spirit of Christmas than the tree.  The purpose of this holiday is to spend time with those you love, and to spread peace and goodwill to all, not just buying gifts for the sake of buying gifts.  What better way to do that than to send handwritten love from afar, to let someone know that you are thinking of them?

I don’t necessarily condone sending Christmas cards to people you don’t really know, but there is a time when it is appropriate.  Let me give you an example of each:

  • Every year, I get a Christmas card from a man who manages one of  the local piano stores.  I also receive promotions and advertisements from him every other week.  I’ve spoken to the man once.  I have no intention of purchasing a piano from a man who doesn’t realize that I already own a piano, and whose pushy personality grates on me.  His cards are printed with a generic greeting inside, and his name is signed in a cursive-like type; he doesn’t even sign his own name.  I don’t think our relationship warrants an exchange of Christmas cards.
  • I am not the best at keeping in touch with my extended family (you know the ones – second and third cousins who you’ve only met a few times and probably wouldn’t recognize if you passed them on the street).  Distance and several generations have made it difficult for my lazy self to do so.  That said, I always send my great-aunts personalized Christmas cards, at the very least to let them know that I am alive, and that I am thinking of them.

And so, I try to keep my list of Christmas card recipients restricted to my family, friends who are more than acquaintances, and my students.  I don’t randomly send cards to the FedEx guy, or even our regular postal carrier.  I also don’t feel obligated to send a card to someone just because he or she sent one to me (see the first example above).  In turn, I don’t expect anyone else to feel obligated just because I sent a card to them.

I realize that these days it may be trendier, and perhaps even greener to send e-greetings during the holidays.  But there is something about this tradition that I just can’t let go of.  So, I intend to continue sending holiday greetings to my friends and loved ones, despite the curmudgeon-like attitude of some Scrooges I know.  I plan to keep Christmas alive in the post every way I can.  In fact, if any of you gentle readers who are not already on my recipient list would like to receive some seasons greetings via post, I would be happy to send one to you.  Just email me your address, and I’ll send some holiday cheer your way!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. writemeg
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 11:41:01

    I’m also totally in love with sending personalized Christmas cards! Every year I buy my box in October or so — basically at the first sign of folks unpacking them in the stores. I’m obsessive-compulsive about having the right holiday stickers AND stamps to affix on them, too. There is something really special about a tangible holiday greeting! And as it’s a dying artform, that makes it even more awesome!

    Merry early Christmas! 🙂

    P.S. Love the snow flurries!

    A woman after my own heart! Good for you, Megan 2! I totally agree that it’s a dying art form. Let’s take it upon ourselves to keep it alive.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

