Common sense was out to lunch

img_1450Stomach: “Mmmmmm.  Toast sounds good. Let’s have some toast.”

Hands: “Hold your horses, the bread is toasting now!”

Two minutes later…

Hands: “Okay, toast has popped, butter is out, plate is ready.  Let’s butter some toast!”

Stomach: “Toast toast toast!”

Brain: “Um, guys…”

Hands: “Hi, Brain!  What’s happening?  We’re making toast!”

Stomach: “Toast toast toast toast!”

Brain: “Not too much, Hands.  But I have one little concern.”

Hands: “What’s that?”

Brain: “I don’t think your setup is quite right.”

Eyes: “It looks fine to us, Brain.  Everything we need for toast is out.”

Stomach: “Toast toast toast toast toast!”

Brain: “I realize that, but look at how it’s set up.”

Eyes: “Sorry.  We don’t follow.”

Brain: “It just seems inefficient, that’s all.  I mean, don’t you think the plate should be a little closer to the butter dish?”

Hands: “It’s not that far, Brain.  We can handle it.”

Brain: “I know it’s not far.  But the toaster is right in your path.”

Hands: “Hey!  Do you doubt my ability to move butter across short distances?”

Brain: “I’m not doubting you, Hands, but something just doesn’t seem right here.”

Hands: “Look.  We’ve already buttered one piece of toast without incident.  We don’t see why you’re so worried.”

Stomach: “Toast toast toast!”

Brain: “All right, all right.  But don’t blame me when something goes wrong.”

Hands: “Puh-lease, Brain.  We already told you, we can handle it. What could possibly go wrong?”

Five seconds later…

Brain: “I told you the plate should have been on the other side of the toaster.”

Eyes: “Hahaha!  Awesome!  We totally saw the whole thing!”

Stomach: “Toast toast toast toast toast!”

Hands: “How were we supposed to know the butter would get all melty and fall off the knife into the toaster?”

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 22:53:55

    haha – i like this

    Thanks!

    Reply

  2. bloggingexperiments
    Dec 06, 2008 @ 00:25:05

    LOL! Very cute. You should check out my post “Waking Up To Hilarity.” You can find it at…

    http://bloggingexperiments.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/waking-up-to-hilarity/

    Where my son had a different, yet similar, lack of common sense.

    Your son and I are kindred spirits at times.

    Reply

  3. that girl
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 09:56:46

    This is a bit off topic, but I think the shape of your stick of butter is interesting. Maybe I’m looking at it wrong, but does it have waves in the middle of it? 🙂

    Haha…yeah, it does. I have this strange habit of sliding the knife across the top of the stick of butter, thus producing a long, thin strip. I find that the thinner the butter, especially when it is cold, the less likely I am to break through my piece of toast. It’s difficult to get that thin piece when cutting from the end. I know…I’m weird like that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

