Baby, it’s cold outside!

There’s no point in hiding it: I sing in the shower.  Loudly.

Since the temperatures began to take a nosedive over the past couple days, I’ve found myself bringing back an old favorite that I always seem to sing while getting ready in the morning.

There are so many wonderful interpretations of this song – Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Jordan, Ray Charles & Betty Carter, Zooey Deschanel & Will Ferrell, and of course, Margaret Whiting & Johnny Mercer, who made one of the original recordings back in 1949.  However, this version with Ricardo Montalban & Esther Williams is probably my favorite.

I love not only the suggestive lyrics, but the perfectly-tuned interactions between the two of them that are really necessary to truly pull this off well: the flawless choreographed movements, his almost-restrained, horny gropings, her halfhearted attempts to get away from him, his intoxicatingly smooth persistence, her eventual giving in.  They just don’t make movies like this anymore.

I only just now realized that I haven’t yet seen Neptune’s Daughter, from which this delightful scene came.  But fear not, few and gentle readers: it has just been bumped up to the top of my Netflix queue.  I’ll post a review once I see it.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raggray
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 09:29:50

    Great scene!

    I know! It’s too bad the rest of the movie was just OK…

    Reply

  2. curlywurlygurly
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 18:44:20

    i love this one too. i always try to get husban-dito to sing it with me every season…by christmas day he FINALLY relents, but only ‘says’ the words, refusing to sing. 🙂

    That’s really funny. At least he’ll give you some Singsprech…

    Reply

  3. writemeg
    Nov 25, 2008 @ 11:55:55

    I can’t say I’ve seen this movie either! And, to heap more embarrassment on myself, I have to say that the only way I’m familiar with Ricardo Montalban is from that stupid commercial a few years back with the lions. I don’t even remember what company it was for. One of the lions tells the other he looks like Ricardo Montalban, to which the Ricardo-lookalike in question incredulously replies, “Ricardo Montalban?!”

    I watch too much TV! 🙂

    I just watched it last night. It was all right. Cute – a comedy of errors, all because Red Skelton pretended to be someone else just to impress a girl. It was worth watching just for that sequence, though.

    The lions saying “Ricardo Montalban” was from a Taco Bell commercial – and Ricardo Montalban actually did a voice-over for it! This was my first exposure to him, too, so don’t feel bad. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

