Impromptu hot cocoa

Today marks the first day of the season where the temperatures have barely touched 40 degrees – a huge shock to my system, since not three days ago it was a balmy 70 degrees outside.  Seriously cold weather calls for some serious hot cocoa.

Here comes some free good publicity for a major manufacturer.  A few years ago, a good friend of mine gave me a Christmas gift that has rocked my world.  My friends, I am speaking of the Mr. Coffee Cocomotion.

This nifty little gadget is reminiscent of a blender, only with no blades.  In its stead, there is a small, plastic device in the center which whirls around and mixes your ingredients.  The best part, though, is that the cocoa is heated from the bottom as it is mixed, making your cocoa nice and hot without scorching the milk on the bottom, as I usually do when making stovetop cocoa.  Making cocoa couldn’t be easier.  You just add your ingredients and press the little button that says “ON.”  Then you let the Cocomotion do its thing.  Personally, I like to watch the chocolaty mixture swirl around, hypnotized, as if I’m watching the beginning of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.  Your drink is ready in about three minutes, and the end result is thick, creamy, frothy, piping hot cocoa, perfect for a frigid day.

Besides the ease of use, I like the Cocomotion for a couple of reasons.  First of all, I like that I am not restricted by directions on a packet.  I can add whatever ingredients I like to my cocoa without compromising its consistency.  And secondly, if I ever wear out my current Cocomotion, I know that I can replace it quite easily for $20 at my local Target or Walmart.

I’ve found that the recipe for hot cocoa on the back of a tin of Hershey’s natural unsweetened cocoa powder is quite unbeatable.  However, given that I was out of vanilla extract, this morning I decided to get a little creative.  The resulting drink was all right – not as good as the classic Hershey’s recipe, but certainly tasty.  Make it and decide for yourself.

Impromptu Hot Cocoa

impromptu hot cocoa

  • 1 cup milk (skim, whole, soy, goat…whatever you normally drink)
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons Hershey’s natural unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tablespoon Hershey’s Dutch processed Special Dark cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon instant coffee
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Add all ingredients to Mr. Coffee Cocomotion. Press the “ON” button.  Wait for Cocomotion to turn off automatically.  Pour cocoa into thick mug, preferably stolen from a local diner.  Let cool slightly, then enjoy.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amy
    Nov 19, 2008 @ 23:38:14

    you know what would make the cocomotion even better? Is if it played the locomotion while mixing up the cocoa, then, bing, once the song is done your frothy, steaming beverage is ready – then I would have to seriously consider investing in one 🙂

    That is such a good idea!! The mixing time is about the length of the song… Maybe I can fiddle with it to try to hook up the motor to a sound card. Or maybe I can find someone to do it for me so that I won’t get electrocuted. Either way, you should definitely get one.

    Reply

  2. that girl
    Nov 20, 2008 @ 13:00:54

    I received something (un)like this last year. I was thinking it would make me a lovely cup of hot chocolate. It was quite a disappointment. All it turned out to be was a mini hand mixer and a ceramic jug thing. You had to pre-heat the milk in the microwave in order for it to be “hot” chocolate.

    I should have known better than to give it a try after I opened it and saw what it was. After I did that, I couldn’t return it.

    This appliance seems more like what I would have liked. 🙂

    That’s a sad story. 😦 I think you should go buy the Cocomotion so you can make a cup o’ cocoa in which to drown your sorrows about that rotten impostor.

    Reply

  3. writemeg
    Nov 21, 2008 @ 14:44:47

    Okay, this does look awesome! I meant to look for it at Target last weekend but forgot. I guess Christmas is coming — I’m adding it to my wishlist! 🙂

    Or, you could just buy it for yourself. Then you can have hot cocoa sooner. Why wait until Christmas?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

