The best roll of film I ever took or will ever take

I didn’t get a digital camera until a couple of years ago.  Until then, I used a film camera, a now archaic device used only by the elite artists or those not technically savvy enough to work a digital camera.  In my case, I use both, not because I prefer film or am particularly proficient at it, or because I’m a retard with my digital camera, but because I have a couple of handfuls of film that I want to use up.

A long time before my adventurous purchase, way back in 2002, I shot a couple rolls of film at my usual summer haunts: Oquossoc, Maine, where my grandfather had a cabin, and Atlanta, Georgia, for the annual fourth of July Peachtree Road Race.

I can’t explain what happened that summer.  For whatever reason, the stars were aligned just right, and all of my photos turned out unbelievably well.  The photos were clear, the framing was perfect, the shading was exact.  The amazing thing was that this was not just a couple select photos from each roll, as is usually the case.  On the contrary, each and every single photo I took that summer was incredible.  It had never happened before, and I doubt it will ever happen again.

The photo to the left was taken just before the water station on Cardiac Hill at Piedmont Hospital during the 2002 Peachtree Road Race.  I was supposed to run that year, but I got a terrible case of bronchitis the week before and got winded walking up a flight of steps – forget running 10 kilometers.  So, I volunteered with my mom while my dad ran solo.  I was lucky enough to shoot this photo at just the right moment.  I think the fates were feeling guilty about making me sick before I could run.

I was in a nostalgic mood and flipping through my old photo albums, and decided to scan the photos from the best roll of film I ever took or will ever take.  More are posted on my Flickr photostream.  Check them out and let me know what you think.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chadhend
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 07:12:14

    That is a sweet one of the little boy, I really like it 🙂 Maybe you should stick with regular film more often? 🙂

    Haha, maybe I’ll post a photo of the little Freddie Mercury 😉

    I do like regular film more than digital sometimes, but I have issues with wasting film on photos that don’t come out.

    I totally want to see a photo of Mini Mercury! Post, post, post!

    Reply

  2. chadhend
    Nov 17, 2008 @ 07:14:47

    And great photos on Flickr. Plus I got to see your icon! Haha 🙂

    Haha…yeah, that was one of my shining moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

