NaNoWriMo Day 6: Behind schedule

It’s only Day 6 and I’ve already fallen behind.  My idealistic word goal for today was 10,000 words.  I am ashamed to admit that my word count has only reached 5,855.  The first day was fantastically productive.  Unfortunately, since I spent all day Sunday driving from Ohio to New Jersey, I didn’t have an opportunity to write a single word, which really threw me off track.  Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday I averaged about 1,000 words – about 700 less per day than I need.  At this rate, I won’t reach 50,000 words until mid-January!  I’m hoping to use the next couple days to really push and catch up.  Perhaps this weekend I can pull ahead.

To bump up my word count, I’ve been using a lot of nifty techniques I read about on the NaNoWriMo Forums in the last few weeks.  For example:

  • I’ve been using lot of adjectives, whether or not they really fit in with the story.  For example, “His thinning, receding, graying hair was cut high and tight, and a thick, bushy, well kept mustache covered a chapped upper lip.”
  • I’ve eliminated contractions, which has upped my word count but made conversation rather silly.  For example, by writing “can not” and “I am,” rather than “can’t” or “I’m,” I have just added two easy words to my count.  Multiply that a few times each paragraph, and you’re in business!
  • Spelling out numbers definitely helps.  For example, one of my characters has an appointment at six thirty in the morning in room One Thousand and Three at Two thousand four hundred thirty two Lincoln Avenue.  That is 20 words as opposed to 9 words when writing “6:30 AM in room 1003 at 2432 Lincoln Ave.”

Every little bit helps…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raggray
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 12:15:07

    I am immensely impressed!

    Reply

  2. Mike
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 10:25:52

    Keep writing — even you aren’t hitting that quota. You’ve got a good idea and I can’t wait (serious) to read it.

    Thanks, Mike. It is the first idea that I’ve come up with that I think I can develop to completion, and I’m pretty proud of that. Of course, I’ll be doing some MAJOR editing before anyone gets to read it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

