Siesta

Bonnie is smart.  She finds the best of both worlds: a sunny spot on a comfy chair directly below a heating vent.

I think I’ve let myself slide into a state of mind in which I’m not supposed to enjoy the simple pleasures of life because they interfere with productivity.  My life has become so dictated by a sense of obligation to things that really don’t matter that I feel guilty if I allow myself to take a ten-minute nap.  My body speaks to me, telling me to slow down, but I ignore it, afraid of the consequences of pausing for rest.

After a couple of very draining weeks, I’ve decided that I must try to live my life more like Bonnie does, letting myself sleep and play when my body tells me to do so.  Screw the consequences.

What good is living life if you don’t allow yourself to enjoy it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chadhend
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 12:39:58

    I totally agree 🙂 I’ve been thinking this about myself, too. Or rather, to be very clear with myself when I am trying to be productive, and when I am consciously deciding to not do something productive at all. I wouldn’t mind a heating vent right about now…

    Reply

  2. chadhend
    Oct 22, 2008 @ 13:19:35

    And do you know, I have yet to see Moonstruck. Guess I will have to check it out 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

