Pollo con Carciofie e Patate

I’m cold.  After a week of beautifully unseasonable warmth, Autumn has decided to rudely nudge its way in with a sharp and pointy elbow.  The temperatures dipped into the thirties last night, and after bundling up with sweaters and blankets and heavy socks, I have reluctantly turned on the heat.  I don’t know why I was so reluctant, since heat is included in the rent.  I could keep my apartment as hot and steamy as a sauna, and it wouldn’t cost me a cent.  Regardless of the cost of heating my home, when the weather turns colder, I crank up the oven.

This recipe is adapted from Betty Crocker’s Italian Cooking, a birthday gift from my grandfather a few years ago. This book has so many delightful recipes, all of which are tasty and easy to make.  I highly recommend you pick it up, or, failing that, eat dinner with someone who uses it.

The original recipe called for parsley and sage.  I used rosemary, since it seems to be a more cool-weather herb, and I have it growing in abundance in my now-dying potted patio garden.  I also had whole bay leaves, which seemed to complement the rosemary better than either parsley or sage.

The original recipe also called for the addition of chicken livers to the artichokes and potatoes.  Coming from Southern stock, I actually wouldn’t have minded adding the livers.  (As far as I know, I am still a member of the EAGLES: Eastern Alabama Gizzard and Liver Eating Society, into which I was inducted at age twelve.  I have the certificate lying around somewhere…)  But two obstacles have stood in my way, causing me to omit them.  First of all, I have yet to find chicken livers for sale in my local grocery stores up here in the mid-Atlantic, and every inquiry to their whereabouts results in strange and disgusted looks from the grocery store employees.  Secondly, and probably more importantly, is the fact that each person for whom I have cooked this dish despises livers. What’s the point in cooking for someone if they won’t eat what you make?

Chicken baked with Artichokes and Potatoes

  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1-2 T. capers
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1 (14-oz.) can artichokes, drained and cut in half
  • 3-lb. cut-up chicken
  • 1-1/2 lb. new potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/2 c. dry white wine
  • 2 T. fresh lemon juice
  • salt and pepper
Heat oven to 425°F.  Toss onion, garlic, rosemary, bay leaves and capers with olive oil in an ungreased 13″x9″x2″ pan.  Spread artichokes and potatoes over onion mixture.  Place chicken, skin side down, on top.  Mix wine and lemon juice; pour over the chicken.  Season with salt and pepper.  Bake uncovered for 30 minutes.  Turn chicken, season once more and bake 30 minutes longer, or until the outside of the chicken is brown and the juice runs clear when the thickest pieces are cut.  
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. chadhend
    Oct 21, 2008 @ 10:49:36

    Haha, smart move on leaving out the chicken livers then. Yes, you should crank up that heat. I once rented an apartment owned by a couple from Bangladesh – they kept it like a greenhouse in there, and I didn’t mind at all.

    Reply

  2. Anne
    Nov 02, 2008 @ 23:31:06

    A fellow EAGLE!! : > )
    I too was inducted into that great
    fellowship of chicken liver lovers of South. I am so proud it was a tradition that was passed down to another generation of
    the family.
    congrats dear niece ! Chicken liver lovers unite!
    Love you, Aunt Annie

    Reply

  3. Mike Christie
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 10:01:17

    Thanks for finding my blog! This dish looks amazing. I still have yet to fully embrace the caper, but when artichokes are done right they are amazing! Luckily fresh ones are easy to find here in Montreal.

    cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

