The Crayon Revelation

I lied.

I lied not out of malice, but out of the non-researched ignorance of a foggy, twenty year-old memory.  It happens to all of us from time to time, and when it happens to me, I inevitably feel a profound sense of shame and regret.  So, few and gentle readers, I do apologize for misleading you.

It turns out that The Crayon was not, in fact, made from a piece of poster board and construction paper.  It was actually a relatively large swatch of red cloth, on which was sewn with loving hands, in black cloth, the classic border we so often see around a crayon.

This revelation was made earlier this afternoon when my mother and I stopped for a milkshake at the local diner.  The topic of Halloween costumes came up, and, after lamenting the lack of imagination in costume-making these days, I inquired about the process of making The Crayon.

“Do you want it?  It’s up in the attic,” she said.

“Do I?  You bet your boots, I do!” came my calm and dignified reply as I jumped out of my seat and nearly spilled my milkshake in my lap.

I am at my parents’ house for the weekend, visiting for my brother’s birthday, so I only had to wait a short while before beholding the second best Halloween costume of my youth.  After scaling the treacherous suggestion of a ladder to the attic, we found a small clothes rack, encased in a zipped plastic cover.  Within its protective shield hung the happiest days of my brother’s and my trick-or-treating years: The Medieval Princess, The Spider, The Clown, The Monk, Batman, Raggedy Ann (or Andy), Merryweather (the blue fairy from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty), The Snow Princess, and The Crayon.

With the exception of The Clown (which was made for my mother by a neighbor when she was a child), each and every one of those costumes was sewn by hand.  I am so impressed with her skill; the quality of these costumes has enabled them to last almost two decades.  Perhaps that’s why she didn’t make The Crayon out of cheap poster board and construction paper.  After all, that’s why The Firefly didn’t last; paper doesn’t hold up quite like cloth.

I have the utmost respect for a good seamstress, and am infinitely jealous of that talent, which seems to elude me.  Perhaps one of these days I will purchase a sewing machine and hone that skill so that I might be prepared for the day when I need to sew a costume myself.

If and when I have children, they will wear The Crayon when they are old enough to go trick-or-treating.  They will have no choice about it.  It’s too cute not to wear.  Fortunately, my mother has agreed to keep it safe in her attic until I have an attic of my own, which will hopefully be before I conceive the aforementioned twinkles in my eye.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Oct 11, 2008 @ 23:13:50

    Ahh – there is nothing like an attic, especially one with so many good things inside 🙂

    Reply

  2. chadhend
    Oct 15, 2008 @ 13:21:09

    That is so great your mom saved all those costumes 🙂 And so well organized! When I was in the 3rd of 4th grade I went as a giant bottle of Elmer’s glue. It was made of cardboard, and when we were trick-or-treating I get falling over and couldn’t get up (couldn’t bend my knees). This year my son will go as Freddie Mercury 😉

    About your comment, you know, you should try chocolate covered popcorn, it’s delicious. They sell it here, so salty and sweet. Though I admit dipping it piece by piece wouldn’t quite work 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Stats, or How to make a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle « Melodic Insomniac

Leave a Reply

