NaNoWriMo: Bring it on

Although it’s not for three months, I went ahead and officially signed up for NaNoWriMo today.  I suppose that part of me figured that if I created an account, especially this early, then I would do some major preparation and actually go through with the event.  Of course, that reasoning is sound in theory only; I joined the local gym a while back, thinking that if I was paying money then I would actually go.  If I had really gone to the gym for all the months for which I paid before I eventually quit, I would have a smokin’ hot bod right now.  But that’s another story for another time.

Since I participated in NaNoWriMo a few years back, I already had an account set up.  However, I tend to forget user names and passwords quicker than our fish forget that they’ve been fed.  Naturally, years later, I had no idea under which name I had registered.  Therefore, it was only logical that I simply create a new user name, clogging up the system with yet another abandoned profile.

I quickly skimmed through the automatically-generated pep talk email that was sent out immediately following my registration.  In this case, most of it was the usual “It’s okay to not know what you’re doing,” and “Do not edit as you go,” and “There will be times when you will want to quit – don’t.”  I had to laugh when I got to the end of the email and read their final words of advice:

Tell everyone you know that you’re writing a novel in November. This will pay big dividends in Week Two, when the only thing keeping you from quitting is the fear of looking pathetic in front of all the people who’ve had to hear about your novel for the past month. Seriously. Email them now about your awesome new book. The looming specter of personal humiliation is a very reliable muse.

The possibility of embarrassment is my driving force most of the time.  It is the reason why I have been so diligent about preparing my pieces for an upcoming recital.  But now the path to success has become clear to me: I must tell ten friends about my literary intentions, and those ten friends must tell their ten friends, and, well, you get the idea.  NaNoWriMo is certainly in favor of this tactic; they have even created a neat little widget for friends and loved ones to post on their own blogs and websites to show their support for their budding writer.  When the widgets are updated for the 2008 season, I expect each and every one of my five or less readers who have blogs or web sites to post it proudly.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 21:53:30

    Its a tough goal, but I think you can do it. And if you don’t, you’ll still have more guts than me for trying it.

    Reply

  2. curlygrrl
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 21:26:07

    I’ll see you there! It is sooo great and in 2007 I think it really did help that i told everyone I knew that I was doing it. (and promised a select few that they could actually read it.)

    Reply

  3. megan
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 09:41:43

    Mike: Thanks for the vote of confidence. At least this year I have the beginning of a story in my head. I think you need to do the screenwriting version in April. That will make us even in the “guts” category.

    curlygrrl: Thanks for stopping by, and for the reassurance of my theory that doing it to avoid the threat of humiliation is the way to go.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Counting down « Melodic Insomniac

Leave a Reply

