Blueberry pie

I am stunned by the lack of recipes for blueberry pie in my reach.  I spent the better part of the past two days (an excellent use of my time, I know) searching high and low for a tried and tested recipe to use for my three pints of blueberries, bought on super sale.

All the recipes found on the internet that looked good carried the stigma of several bad ratings, and all the recipes with great ratings didn’t look like something I would want to taste.  My many cookbooks were little help; most of them are centered around a certain country or type of food, leaving only a select few with good old “American” recipes.  However, these proved to be of no help, either.  Some contained recipes utilizing the blueberry, but not in a pie.  Even my cookbook of recipes from Maine, which I bought in Maine, the state that boasts blueberries almost as much as lobster, had no recipe for blueberry pie (although, it did contain a recipe for something called “Blueberry Yum-Yum.”  I definitely must look into that one.).

Frustrated, I phoned my mother, who, by some strange coincidence, seemed to have the same trouble as I did.   Blueberry muffins, blueberry cream cake, blueberry pancakes, blueberry stew…but no blueberry pie.   Fortunately, she did find a recipe which sounded good, and which she said seemed similar to a pie she used to make (the recipe for which is long gone).   I didn’t end up using all the filling, as it was way too much to fit into the pie plate; perhaps the “deep-dish” pie crust I purchased wasn’t deep enough.   I haven’t yet tasted it, but considering it is only my second pie, and my first lattice crust, I think it looks mighty tasty.

Spicy blueberry pie

  • 3/4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 t. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4. t. ground allspice
  • 5 c. fresh blueberries
  • 1 T. lemon juice
  • 1 T. melted butter
  • 2 frozen pie crusts
  • 1 T. milk
  • 1 t. sugar

Combine sugars, flour, cinnamon, allspice, blueberries, lemon juice and butter, tossing gently. Fill pie crust with blueberry mixture. Roll out second pie crust; cut into strips and create lattice crust on top of pie.

Bake at 400°F for 40-45 minutes; shield the edges with foil for the last 20 minutes to prevent over-browning.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. raggray
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 13:44:45

    Looks delicious! How did it taste?

    Reply

  2. megan
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 20:45:40

    It was actually quite fantastic! I definitely plan to use this recipe in the future, adjusting it slightly – only 4 cups of blueberries were necessary.

    Reply

  3. Mike
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 21:25:09

    I didn’t think I was one for blueberry pies, but I am now! It was very good.

    Reply

  4. megan
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 22:32:58

    Mike: What the heck are you talking about? You told me a couple of weeks ago that you liked blueberry pie via an email:

    On Jul 18, 2008, at 2:42 PM, Mike wrote:
    YES
    i do.

    >On Jul 18, 2008, at 2:05 PM, Megan wrote:
    >do you like blueberry pie?

    What do you have to say about that?

    Reply

  5. Valerie
    Sep 02, 2008 @ 13:06:40

    I made this yesterday, first pie I ever baked! It turned out fantastic, liked the spicy “twist” to it.
    Thanks for the great recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

