Buds


It’s been about four months since I planted my tray of seeds. Today, the basil is thriving, especially so with the onslaught of heat and humidity. The cilantro, unfortunately, has withered away despite my best efforts at resuscitation; the oregano never made it more than a month or so. Both the tomatoes and the zucchini are leafy, but only the zucchini has produced a flower, and I’m sad to say, nothing further.  I may have to resort to purchasing some healthy replacements from my local nursery.  I want vegetables!

But yesterday I was thrilled to see a little green bud poking out from my jalapeños. In fact, there are at least four little buds of fetal jalapeños on my plant! I am ecstatic not only because I managed to keep a plant healthy from its initial sprouting, but that one of them is actually producing fruit!

My only concern is the harvest of these spicy little guys.  It seems that a couple of rather nasty looking eight-legged interlopers have set up shop betwixt the leaves of my potted babies.  I fear that my harvest will appear as an act of war and will result in an all-out attack, leaving me dead on my tiny patio.

It seems that I have a while before the jalapeños are ready to be picked, so I can spend that time planning a course of action.  Either way, I plan to have a spicy end to my summer.  Salsa, anyone?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maleesha
    Jul 22, 2008 @ 23:36:36

    I love the term “fetal jalapenos.”

    I’m attempting cilantro too, and it just doesn’t seem to be doing much. My basil is out of control.

    Reply

  2. curlygrrl
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 21:31:55

    My cilantro is dying a slow and agonizing death and my oregano just kind of disappeared when I tried to transplant it…did you grow your tomatoes from seed? The plants I have that are doing the best were started in a greenhouse in February. Harvesting nearly a pound of sungolds every couple of days. Good luck to you! This is my first year growing veggies and I love it so!!

    Reply

  3. megan
    Aug 02, 2008 @ 09:33:16

    curlygrrl: The same thing happened to my oregano – it didn’t make it for more than a couple days once I transplanted it. I did grow the tomato plants from seeds. Unfortunately, the same thing is happening as with the zucchini – big, leafy greens, some flowers, but no fruit. Perhaps the bees in this area aren’t particular to tomatoes on apartment decks. Good luck with your veggies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

