Roomba

Once upon a time, in the freshly blooming land of New Jersey, a dashing young prince took his beautiful lover by the hand. Smothering her with light kisses, he spouted impromptu poetry amid amorous glances and thinly veiled belches.

“Oh, my love,” he cooed, “my darling, my angel, my roasted little peanut, I love you with all of my heart.”

“Oh, how I love you, too, my sweet!” squealed the young maiden, blushing at his touch.

“I cannot stand to be away from you, my crunchy little potato chip, not even for a moment,” continued the prince, pulling her ever closer.

“Nor can I stand the thought of being away from you, you manly man, you,” replied the maiden. “Promise me that we will be together always and forever!”

“Why, of course, my little jelly bean,” said the prince, tangling his fingers in her auburn locks. “On my honor, I will never leave your side!”

“Oh, hooray!” cried the love-struck maiden, giggling uncontrollably.

“Except tomorrow morning,” said the prince, standing up. “I’m going to a flea market with Fred. I should be back by two.”

“Oh,” said the maiden, slightly disappointed. “So, then, can I use your camera while you’re gone?”

With the apartment to myself, I spent hours chasing our Roomba around, capturing every sweep and crash on film. You see, Roomba has a tendency to run full-speed into walls and other similar obstacles. Fortunately for Roomba (and for my peace of mind), there is a fantastic shock-absorbing bumper on front, which allows Roomba to continue on his merry way after a collision. Months later, this still cracks me up. It was a tricky process at first, as I had to simultaneously aim, start and stop Roomba while running the camera. However, once I got into the swing of things, I soon had more footage of a little robot vacuum cleaner than anyone could ever need.

This film was not only my first attempt at using Mike’s heavy-duty DV camera, but it was also my first attempt at editing. While I’m sure it is severely lacking some features desired by serious filmmakers, iMovie did the trick just fine for me. Although not my first attempt at scoring a motion picture, this was my first opportunity to use GarageBand and its Symphony Orchestra Jam Pack, which, I would like to add, rocks, considering I didn’t have an actual orchestra with which to work.

Mike was kind enough to post the movie on Protozoic, since I haven’t yet figured out how to load videos on this blog, if it’s even possible.  Click here to see Roomba.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mike
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 12:31:10

    I love the music!

    Reply

  2. Thom
    Jun 29, 2008 @ 23:26:39

    I like the music more than Mike. I am shocked the company hasn’t contacted you about making it into an AD. Love it.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Roomba score « Melodic Insomniac

Leave a Reply

