Aloe and a small concession

About a year ago, I made a long-desired yet impulsive purchase, as there was a major sale at the local Best Buy. The cost of a fairly decent Olympus Camedia D-425 was reduced by two-thirds, thereby plopping it in the middle of my price range for digital cameras (which, I’m sad to say, is very low and narrow). It isn’t the best camera out there, by any means, but it is digital, and I do save a significant amount of money on blurry prints that I would have otherwise have gotten from my film camera.

Like Adrienne, I never actually read the manual. I consider myself like a man when it comes to new electronic gadgets. Perhaps it is the piano teacher in me, but I feel that I learn much more easily and thoroughly when I actually experience the new concept, rather than read about it in a book. I normally resort to looking at a manual only when I have gotten myself into a major pickle and convinced myself that I have most likely broken my new toy. Then, I look in the index for that specific problem, solve it, and leave the rest of the manual for another day. That system works quite well for me.

Since I chose to ignore the manual, I didn’t realize until months later that I could have been taking photos of a much higher quality. Mike, after recently playing with my camera, pointed out that fact to me, and I will tell you here what I told him then: I know I could have, but there is one major problem: higher quality means larger photos which take up more memory and ultimately mean less photos I can take. If I change the setting on this camera to take the best quality photos, I can only take a maximum of about ten photos. I would have to stop what I was doing and upload those photos onto my computer before I could take more. Now, if I set the quality much lower, I can take over one hundred and ten, meaning that I could make it through a whole weekend vacation without having to lug around my laptop.

I suppose that this dilemma is a consequence of purchasing a cheap digital camera. Perhaps in the far-off future, when I am rich, I will invest in a better camera, which will allow me to photograph more of the world at once in much higher quality.

In the meantime, I will make a small concession and admit that this camera does take lovely high-quality photos. My aloe, photographed this morning with dew still on the leaves, proves that. Of course, it did help that my laptop was nearby.

Leave a Reply

