The elusive Fufu Berry

I like to consider myself an informed consumer.  When it comes to the important products on the market, I try to shop around to find the best deal on the best product, thus making me a happy customer.  This tactic usually applies to the “major,” more electronic purchases in life, such as a digital camera, new printer, or DVD player.  So far, I have been satisfied with the approach.  However, when it comes to the “minor” purchases (i.e., products that cost less than $20), I admit that I am often sold by catchy phrases and snazzy packaging.  Such was the case when, while looking for dinner in my parents’ local grocery store last week, I came across a carbonated beverage, the hue of which can only be described as “Barbie Pink,” and whose label subtley proclaimed “FUFU BERRY SODA.”

Fufu Berry?  What the heck is a Fufu Berry??  After extensive research I have determined that a Fufu Berry is nothing more than a realization of some soda-maker’s very active imagination.  Keep in mind, after being revolted by Jones Soda’s “Turkey and Gravy”-flavored fiasco, I have spent the last few years being extremely cautious about this brand, steering clear of such flavors as “Green Bean Casserole,” “Brussels Sprout” and “Purple Carrot.”  Despite these and other unappetizing possibilities, I was intrigued by the fun-sounding flavor of the Fufu Berry.  Immediately, I thought of Porky in Wackyland (1938), the black-and-white cartoon featuring Porky Pig, who ventured into the darkest heart of Africa in search of the elusive Dodo.  Surely, the FuFu Berry would grow as the perfect food for that zany Dodo.

Amused by my imagination, and by the unnatural color of the liquid, I grabbed a bottle from the shelf and placed it next to a bottle of Dr. Pepper, which would serve as a back-up, should the Fufu Berry turn out to be anything but delicious. Once in the car, my mother looked at me with concern as I twisted off the cap.  I was amazed to find a fortune printed on the underside of the cap.  It read, “You will have much luck with an upcoming financial endeavor.”  Wow!  Even if the soda itself was awful, at least I had a fortune that was better than any found in any fortune cookie.  Taking a deep breath, I tipped back the bottle and let a bit of the soda hit my tongue.  My mother hadn’t put the car into gear yet; she was waiting for the verdict.  Although she would never try the stuff herself, she would gladly let her only daughter be a Guinea pig so that she would not have to taste it.

A smile spread across my face.  I could not remember the last time I had tasted something so delightful!  The flavor was reminiscent of raspberry ginger ale, only with slightly less carbonation, and just a bit more sugar.  I was suddenly swept back to my childhood, when the most ultimate pleasure could be found in a candy bar.  I could imagine myself chugging bottle after bottle, rotting my teeth and loving every moment.  The smile on my face grew even wider with the realization that I was probably undoing the dental cleaning I had just two hours before.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soops
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 11:15:13

    ace! i just tried this stuff.. it’s pretty nice ennit, came lookin for the fufu berry

    Reply

  2. Rocky
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 04:20:57

    Great review! Glad everything ended up well 🙂 Will definitely look for some FUFU!

    Reply

  3. devFromAus
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 03:10:40

    good story man.

    down here in australia i was sold by the fancy usa soda bearing the name ‘fufu berry’. just tasted it and totally agree. it reminds me of a movie which name i forgot, a christmas themed special movie with glowing orange candy of the same color as the bottle’s hue.

    my googling brang me here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

