THE BLACK CAT and THE BOY Who Was Never Superstitious

This holiday has proven to be both a failure and an unexpected success in terms of ransacking my parents’ house for mementos from my youth.  At Mike’s request, I searched high and low for The Black Cat, but all in vain. We may never know the fate of that treasure.  I did, however, manage to unearth its sequel, The Black Cat and the Boy who was Never Superstitious, a thrilling exploration of the human psyche which had completely slipped away from my memory.

As you may recall, I was wonderfully excited about the assignment of writing a Short Story.  That being the case, I completed The Black Cat long before the rest of the students in the class had completed their own stories, and therefore began work on another tale of another evil cat.  I suspect that this work was completed with the knowledge of only Miss Bridges and the Creative Parent, so as not to provoke the wrath of my classmates and brand me a dork and teacher’s pet.

I wonder if J.K. Rowling began in a similar manner?  I sincerely doubt that she had the help of a Creative Parent.  If she did, I could consider her an inspiration, and follow suit to publish a 7-part series of novels about evil felines that roamed everywhere from the backwaters of Romania to the parking lot of Super Fresh.  After all, I do seem to have tapped into the formula of titles: “Harry Potter and the …” :: “The Black Cat and the …”

Regardless of whether I will one day become the next J.K. Rowling, I am simply tickled to present to you the much-forgotten, yet by now highly-anticipated, sequel to The Black Cat.  To make reading easier (as my handwriting was that of a third-grader, and I had to seriously shrink the image to make it fit), I have provided an accurate transcript (including the one minor spelling error) to accompany the scan of the original story.  Also included is the original title page, illustration by the author, and biography with photograph.

S’amuser!

THE BLACK CAT and THE BOY Who Was Never Superstitious

There once was a cat as black as night. Most people feared the cat for the people were superstitious.

One night, the cat passed by a closed drug store. Inside the drug store was a boy working the night-shift. His name was Andrew James. Andrew was the only one in the town who wasn’t superstitious. When he saw the cat, he tried shooing it away by the cat walked into the shabby drugstore.

It was now midnight. The cat stared at Andrew. He was hypnotized. He was now superstitious! He scrambled away from it. The cat followed close behind. Then the cat dissapeared and was never seen again! As for Andy, he turned away every time he saw a black cat.

Megan Register is a 3rd grade student at Mt. Pleasant Elem. This is her second book published. Her other hobbies are dancing, swiming and running.

Leave a Reply

